Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Pirates Of The Mississippi


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Pirates of the Mississippi is an American country music duo composed of guitarist/vocalist Rich Alves and lead singer Bill McCorvey. They are both founding members of the re-established group, which began in 1987 as a five-piece band; completing the original lineup were drummer Jimmy Lowe, steel guitarist Pat Severs, and bass guitarist Dean Townson.

Under this five-piece lineup, Pirates of the Mississippi made its national debut in 1990 with a cover of Hank Williams’ “Honky Tonk Blues”; a #26 hit on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks (now Hot Country Songs) chart, it was the debut single from their self-titled debut album. “Honky Tonk Blues” was followed by ten more singles, all of which charted between 1990 and 1995; in that same time span, the band would release four more studio albums and a compilation album. Severs was replaced by Greg Trostle in 1994; two years later, the five members parted ways.

In 2000, Rich and Bill reunited and began recording again as a duo, once again using the name Pirates of the Mississippi. The re-established lineup of Alves and McCorvey has produced one album to date — 2006’s Heaven and a Dixie Night, on the independent CBuJ Ent. label.

Pirates of the Mississippi was formed in 1987, when Nashville session musicians Bill McCorvey (lead vocals), Rich Alves (guitar), Dean Townson (bass guitar), Jimmy Lowe (drums), and Pat Severs (steel guitar) started performing together.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

3,024listeners all time
22,671scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners