Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Pierce Pettis


Everyone’s tags

More tags


A former staff writer for PolyGram Publishing in Nashville, Pettis’ musical career was started in 1979 when Joan Baez covered one of his songs, “Song at the End of the Movie”, on her album Honest Lullaby. Following that release, Pettis became heavily involved in the “Fast Folk movement” in New York in the 1980s alongside artists such as Shawn Colvin and Suzanne Vega.

In 1984, Pettis released his first independent solo album, Moments, followed by a string of releases for High Street Records; While the Serpent Lies Sleeping, Tinseltown and Chase the Buffalo. None of these releases have made Pettis a household name, but his music has become extremely popular with other artists. His songs have been covered by artists like Dar Williams (“Family” on Mortal City), Garth Brooks (“You Move Me” on Sevens), Dion & the Belmonts, Sara Groves, Randy Stonehill and others.

In the early 1990s, Pettis developed a working relationship with songwriter and producer Mark Heard. Pettis was performing with Heard at the Cornerstone Festival in July of 1992, when Heard had a heart attack on stage. Heard finished the show, but collapsed off-stage afterwards and died the following August. That loss led to the start of a tradition for Pettis, who has started off each of his albums with one of Heard’s songs since 1993’s Chase the Buffalo, where he recorded Heard’s “Nod Over Coffee”.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

7,027listeners all time
69,809scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • LoudThud

    Just read the lyrics to "I am Nothing". Beautiful....

    8 Apr 2009 Reply
  • Rtaylor32

    Pierce Pettis new cd is called "That Kind of Love" and is schedued to be released on -27 Jan 2009. Here's the track list: 1. Nothing But The Wind 2. I Am Nothing 3. Veracruz 4. Farewell 5. Lion's Eye 6. You Did That For Me 7. That Kind of Love 8. Talk Memphis 9. To Dance 10. Hallelujah 11. Pastures of Plenty 12. Something for the Pain

    6 Dec 2008 Reply
  • skbreese

    Yes, It's scheduled to come out In Januray 2009

    2 Nov 2008 Reply
  • folkdevil

    Gorgeous songs, I love his stuff! Pierce should make more full tracks available on :)

    24 Oct 2008 Reply
  • Buttfacecharlie

    He's going to be in the studio sometime in the near future. I've heard the demos of the new tracks, and they are amazing, which comes as a surprise to no one. This will be an album to buy on release, for sure.

    14 Nov 2007 Reply
  • Rtaylor32

    Does anyone know when his next CD will be released?

    18 Nov 2006 Reply

Top Listeners