The most incredible thing

Release date
14 Mar 2011
Running length
21 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Prologue 1:47 4,028
2 The grind 7:08 3,111
3 The challenge 3:54 2,794
4 Help me 2:09 2,532
5 Risk 5:29 2,257
6 Physical jerks 3:40 2,482
7 The competition 6:45 1,989
8 The meeting 2:51 1,986
9 The clock 1/2/3 5:45 1,726
10 The clock 4/5/6 4:00 1,710
11 The clock 7/8/9 6:22 1,589
12 The clock 10/11/12 6:27 1,359
13 The winner 3:48 1,671
14 Destruction 4:10 1,522
1 Back to the grind 5:16 1,456
2 The miracle - Ceremony 1:47 1,432
3 The miracle - Revolution 2:44 1,343
4 The miracle - Resurrection 2:16 1,339
5 The miracle - Colour and light 2:58 1,494
6 The miracle - The meeting (reprise) 2:00 1,613
7 The wedding 3:21 1,325

About this album

The Most Incredible Thing is the score for the 2011 ballet of the same name, based on the eponymous 1870 fairy tale by Danish author Hans Christian Andersen. It contains music written and performed by Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe of English synthpop duo Pet Shop Boys. The album was released in the United Kingdom on 14 March 2011 by Parlophone.

Tennant and Lowe proposed Andersen’s story (about a competition in a mythical kingdom where the King announces that whoever invents the most incredible thing will win the hand of the Princess in marriage and half of the Kingdom) as the basis for a new ballet to Sadler’s Wells Theatre in London in 2007 after a friend, the then-Royal Ballet principal, Ivan Putrov, asked Tennant if Pet Shop Boys would consider writing a piece of music for him to dance to at Sadler’s Wells. Coincidentally a couple of days later, Lowe suggested to Tennant that “The Most Incredible Thing” would make an excellent narrative for a ballet and, inspired by this synchronicity, they approached Sadler’s Wells with the project. The following year Javier de Frutos was chosen as the choreographer and Matthew Dunster wrote a scenario for ballet (“a map for music”). Tennant and Lowe composed most of Act One in autumn 2008 and the rest of the score in 2010. They approached Sven Helbig to write the orchestrations. These were recorded in the end of 2010 in the Concert Hall of Polish Radio with the Wrocław Score Orchestra conducted by Dominic Wheeler.

Other releases

Listening Trend

6,367listeners all time
86,829scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • TeachTomCR

    Wonderful to see PSB branch into ballet--after pop, dance, musical, movie soundtrack adaptation, etc). PSB are true succesful artists not restricted by the bland commercialism in music.

    8 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Gochir


    24 May 2011 Reply
  • FreeMHZ


    26 Mar 2011 Reply
  • skiesrblue

    Perfect.......imagine a musical score, ballet score then add PSB electronics and sweeping music....... fabulous....

    20 Mar 2011 Reply

Listening Now

Top Listeners