Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Pepe Deluxé


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Pepe Deluxé is a Finnish electronic music oriented band, formed in 1996 by DJ Slow (Vellu Maurola) JA-Jazz (Tomi Paajanen) and James Spectrum (Jari Salo) in Helsinki, Finland. They started to experiment with sounds of hip hop, big beat, breakbeat and downtempo. DJ Slow departed the band in 2001 to pursue solo projects. JA-Jazz has been off-duty since 2008. Multi-instrumentalist Paul Malmström became official member of the band in 2008.

Pepe Deluxé live line-up consists of Tommi Lindell (modular synthesizer, vocoder), Miikka Paatelainen (guitar, bass, Theremin), Markku Reinikainen (drums), James Spectrum (mixing, percussions) and Edward Greendanger (VJ).

The band’s first release was a song called “Call Me Goldfinger”. It was released in 1997 on the “Return of the DJ, Vol. II” scratch-dj compilation album by Bomb Hip-Hop Records. After the release, the band continued making new Pepe Deluxé -music and also remixes for finnish dance music -artists.

The band’s first EP, Three Times a Player, 1998, was actually a demo released under an imaginary record label Tiger. It was still chosen as the downtempo album of the month by Muzik magazine in the UK. This led to a recording contract with Brighton’s Catskills Records.

The band’s first album, Super Sound, was released 1999. Due to clearance problems (the tracks were heavily sampled), they had to do a new version of the album with many of the tracks re-created with cleared samples or with live instruments.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

113,089listeners all time
1,239,705scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • dearmau5

    can someone please send me spare time machine? cant find it :( love queen of the wave

    17 Sep 6:12am Reply
  • Flashkaboom

    queen of the wave kicks ass

    2 May 9:48pm Reply
  • 303factory

    Queen of the wave is the tits

    17 Feb 10:16am Reply
  • Volnutt_

    bad tags

    24 Nov 2013 Reply
  • AlanRanta

    Not a single bad song on Queen Of The Wave, it's amazing. [2]

    20 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Volnutt_

    we are all wearing great tufted beasts upon our heads.

    23 Sep 2013 Reply
  • deereks

    Seeing them live soon, really interested how they will perform songs from Queen of the Wave.

    7 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Crestrai

    Not a single bad song on Queen Of The Wave, it's amazing.

    7 May 2013 Reply
  • 160R

    @escalonab: sure, the latest Queen of the Wave album is not so amazing for people who listened Pepe Deluxé before.

    26 Feb 2013 Reply
  • AlanRanta

    Trip-folk... that's a good call, Davvda95.

    10 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Dworkin_Gospel

    да, по-прежнему альбом года. материал на втором диске расширенного издания просто супер!

    29 Nov 2012 Reply
  • Cyankali

    stil album of the year!

    17 Nov 2012 Reply
  • Davvda95

    Tagged this with trip-folk in lack of a better word.

    18 Aug 2012 Reply
  • EpicFuse

    This is some of the most unique stuff I've ever heard. Love it!

    18 Jul 2012 Reply
  • pobodys_nerfect

    The similar artists are weird, but I guess it's like likeapillow said, stuff from 2012 people have been listening to.

    15 Jun 2012 Reply
  • escalonab

    I thought Queen of the Wave was an amazing concept album. And then I listened to Beatitude..... INCREDIBLE!!!

    7 Jun 2012 Reply
  • etiopczyk

    @likeapillow : exactly! and i can add that i don't have any kind of idea what are the connections between Death Grips (tasty harcore hip-hop) and Pepe Deluxé ?! this new similar compering is totally bullshit

    23 May 2012 Reply
  • StianD

    Playing Live in finland august 12!

    11 May 2012 Reply
  • Chiiiiiiiiiiiip

    similar artists: /mu/ fotm circa feb/mar 2012

    30 Apr 2012 Reply
  • Wuja_Wro

    New album is absolutely brilliant.

    27 Apr 2012 Reply
  • All 122 shouts

Top Listeners