Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Pensive is a melodic rock quartet from San Diego California founded in 2000 by high school friends Julio Godoy (vocals, rhythm guitar) and Patrick Smith (lead guitar). Other current members are Ian Douglas (bass, backup vocals), and Jeremy Hough (drums).

Pensive has self released the full length album “Artifacts,” as well as two previous EPs, “Something About the Stars,” and “Kids These Days.” The band tours frequently across the United States, and has visited more than 35 states.

Another band by the name of Pensive was an emotional screamo band, formed in 1996 by Brett Detar of The Juliana Theory, which disbanded in 1997.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

3,465listeners all time
46,561scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • xbeautyqueen

    I met Julio and he gave me a copy of the album.. Often when that happens it leaves you underwhelmed, but I have to say... I really really like it!!!!

    27 Nov 2012 Reply
  • tonyspeller

    Hmm... Pensive?? I echo the comment 4 below me.

    25 Apr 2010 Reply
  • manticorepee

    *tackles* <3 X3

    25 Feb 2009 Reply
  • pensivepunk

    They broke up before Juliana Theory even began. We weren't even aware that they existed until 2004 when someone asked us if we were the same Pensive as founded by Brett. Obviously, we aren't. Go figure! :P

    3 Dec 2007 Reply
  • encosion

    Not quiet the Pensive I was expecting! What happened to the screamo band? Founded by Brett Detar of Zao and The Juliana Theory?

    19 Jan 2007 Reply

Top Listeners