Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain

Release date
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Silence Kid 3:01 42,336
2 Elevate Me Later 2:51 142,014
3 Stop Breathin' 4:28 80,094
4 Cut Your Hair 3:05 255,167
4 Newark Wilder 3:54 122,127
5 Unfair 2:33 139,014
6 Gold Soundz 2:41 183,880
7 5*4=Unity 2:09 10,923
8 Heaven Is a Truck 2:31 119,610
9 Range Life 4:55 161,259
10 Hit the Plane Down 3:37 104,640
11 Fillmore Jive 6:40 100,506

About this album

Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain is an album released by Pavement in 1994. With this album, the band abandoned the lo-fi sound displayed on Slanted and Enchanted (as well as their drummer, Gary Young). During the tour for Slanted, the band added percussionist Bob Nastanovich and bassist Mark Ibold; partway through this album’s recording sessions, Gary Young was replaced by Steve West. The album featured the band at its most easily accessible, and the single “Cut Your Hair” was the band’s closest brush with mainstream success. As of 2007, the album has sold almost 500,000 copies and was a UK Top 20 hit upon release. Although it was not so successful in the US charts, it has since been critically acclaimed across the US music press as a classic alternative rock album. The album was reissued on October 26, 2004 by Matador Records under the name Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain: LA’s Desert Origins.

Other releases

Listening Trend

239,927listeners all time
5,821,539scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • goldfishclowns

    Am I the only one who likes Heaven is a Truck?

    20 Jul 1:45pm Reply
  • flash_flem

    This would have been a 10/10 if it wasn't for Heaven is a truck and Hit the plane down. Still 9/10 though so a near masterpiece

    12 Jun 12:26am Reply
  • OcellatedGod

    Masterpiece, especially if you skip Heaven is a Truck and Hit the Plane Down.

    1 Jun 3:30am Reply
  • Etidu

    Heaven is a Truck is so bad that I feel stupid for liking the other songs.

    21 May 11:18pm Reply
  • Harry_01

    It truly is a great album. My favourite by them.

    2 Apr 10:44pm Reply
  • lfelipecosta

    This album is the reason why should create the "I Love This Album" button.

    3 Mar 11:54pm Reply
  • TriptheLight

    i dont understand all the hype it's seriously just whatever tbh

    19 Jun 2014 Reply
  • butt-plugsuit

    I'm completely in love with every second on this album.

    2 May 2014 Reply
  • lfelipecosta

    I'm completely in love with every track on this album.

    21 Apr 2014 Reply
  • imadeyourealise

    I'm completely in love with this album.

    23 Feb 2014 Reply
  • Vincent____Vega


    26 Nov 2013 Reply
  • For_Iconoclasm

    @adamgover97: I have the vinyl record right here. The back album art shows "Silence Kit" painted by somebody, while the label on the record clearly has "Silence Kid" handwritten (presumably by SM). I tend to think it's "Silence Kid", although the label also has track 2 titled "Ell Ess Two" instead of "Elevate Me Later", so it's possible that SM changed both of those titles.

    25 Jun 2013 Reply
  • adamgover97

    crooked rain could really use a re-tagging. silence kid? two track fours?

    5 Mar 2013 Reply
  • k-rolina92

    SO GOOD!

    1 Oct 2012 Reply
  • furlan11

    pop music at its finest

    23 Jul 2012 Reply
  • occupieddog

    woooow first listen to the first album already holds a considerable amount of promise! love the sound :D

    7 Apr 2012 Reply
  • treflippers

    go sood

    10 Aug 2011 Reply
  • BlackPeople2000

    "tags: albums i own, indie rock, favorite albums" idiots

    2 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Bubblez6Tryrone

    An all-time favourite.

    5 Jul 2011 Reply
  • twinkletoedwiz

    God I think it's a dead heat between S&E and this, they are both life changing!!

    28 Jun 2011 Reply
  • All 94 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners