Sony BMG Music Entertainment
Release date
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Embers Fire 4:44 36,737
2 Remembrance 3:26 29,360
3 Forging Sympathy 4:43 26,943
4 Joys Of The Emptiness 3:29 26,001
5 Dying Freedom 3:43 4,482
6 Widow 3:04 27,247
7 Colossal Rains 4:35 24,389
8 Weeping Words 3:50 23,800
9 Poison 2:59 24,228
10 True Belief 4:30 34,463
11 Shallow Seasons 4:55 22,720
12 Christendom 4:30 23,805
13 Deus Misereatur 1:57 21,932
14 Sweetness (bonus track) 5:35 31
15 Your Hand In Mine (live) (bonus track) 6:38 20

About this album

Icon is the fourth studio album recorded by British doom metal/gothic band Paradise Lost in 1993. This marked the end of their early death/doom sound.

Published by Zomba Music.
Produced and Engineered by Simon Efemey.
Mixed by Simon Efemey and Pete “Pee Wee” Coleman.
Mix Engineer: Pete “Pee Wee” Coleman.
Assisted by Andrew Holdsworth.
Keyboards by Andrew Holdsworth.
Assistants: Paul Nixon and Sally Butler.
Recorded at Jacobs Studios, Surrey, June / July 1993.

Mastered by Geoff Pesche at Townhouse Studios.
Additional female vocals by Denise Bernard.
Design and art direction by Stylorouge.
All photography by Matt Anker.

Other releases

Listening Trend

Sorry, there was a problem fetching these charts. Please try again in a few minutes.

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • reinka0s

    Fuck Metallica & James Suckfield

    20 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Supertransonic

    ....and then came draconian times...a really great icon II imo! [2] .. Very true, but there is something oddly captivating about Icon? Something that makes it untouchable!

    10 Dec 2013 Reply
  • art_ensifer

    The album i'll never get tired of! Perfect classics!

    5 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Pantelika

    It's like a gothic "Black Album" [2]

    13 Oct 2013 Reply
  • shitscud

    Hetfield-esque or not, Nick Holmes vocal output on this album is definitely one of his strongest overall efforts. I think he really came into his own on this album, when he really found his voice.

    29 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Goatsemen

    Too damn good

    9 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Foggster

    ....and then came draconian times...a really great icon II imo...;-)

    19 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Foggster

    the one and only perfect album of a great band

    9 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Iamjustapeasant

    One of the best

    27 Jul 2012 Reply
  • cucabeludo

    Nick doesn't sound like the dumbass james hetfield... kids.

    8 Jun 2012 Reply
  • Colony666

    Its like a gothic "Black Album"

    25 May 2012 Reply
  • Phyllobius

    Divine guitar work, but mediocre drumming.

    19 Feb 2012 Reply
  • reignmaster

    If you keep getting reminded of Metallica while listening to this album, then maybe it's time to start focusing on the actual music instead of how similar Nick Holmes sounds to James Hetfield.

    6 Feb 2012 Reply
  • ShredsofFlesh

    This album is amazing... even if the vocals kind of sound like Metallica, the music is breathtaking .

    9 Oct 2011 Reply
  • Supertransonic

    The soundtrack to my youth... amazing album!

    8 Oct 2011 Reply
  • Mes_Que_Un_Club

    The best PL album, and one of the best metal albums of the 90's. [2]

    22 Sep 2011 Reply
  • dmitry_litium

    This masterpiece sounds like Metallica on pills. \m/

    1 Sep 2011 Reply
  • lekkoostry

    Embers Fire is really great!

    26 Aug 2011 Reply
  • rotting_schntzl

    nowhere near indeed. to me it's just a transition phase, between Shades and Draconian.

    13 Jun 2011 Reply
  • outrenoir

    Metallica, Metallica, Metallica

    1 May 2011 Reply
  • All 67 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners