Nine Inch Nails
Release date
22 Jul 2008
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 999,999 1:24 180,749
2 1,000,000 3:55 190,226
3 Letting You 3:48 162,941
4 Discipline 4:18 262,243
5 Echoplex 4:44 181,343
6 Head Down 4:54 155,141
7 Lights in the Sky 3:28 168,354
8 Corona Radiata 7:31 160,352
9 The Four of Us Are Dying 4:36 144,008
10 Demon Seed 4:58 135,909

About this album

The Slip (also known as Halo 27) is the eighth major studio release by American Industrial rock act Nine Inch Nails. The album was released free of charge on May 5, 2008 via digital download on the official Nine Inch Nails website.

The album was released on CD in the United States and Canada on July 22, 2008. The album was released as a six-panel digipack which contained (in addition to the album itself) a 24 page booklet, a sticker pack, and a DVD with live performances of 1,000,000, Letting You, Discipline, Echoplex, and Head Down. This package was limited to 250,000 numbered units worldwide

The album was made available without any prior notice or advertisement, and in a similar fashion as the band’s previous release, Ghosts I–IV, released two months earlier. The album was produced by Trent Reznor alongside Atticus Ross and Alan Moulder. The album features vocals and traditional song structures, unlike its 2008 counterpart Ghosts I-IV.

Much like Ghosts I-IV, the album was released under a Creative Commons license, allowing fans to remix and reuse all or part of the album non-commercially. A tour for the album, entitled “Lights in the Sky 2008”, began in late July and took place over most of North America and South America.

A free download is available from the following URL:

Other releases

Listening Trend

392,227listeners all time
7,833,166scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Brickfaced

    This album feels just as timeless as some of his older stuff, but it's also incredibly dull in places.

    25 Jan 1:01pm Reply
  • The_SchizoidMan

    One of NIИ's best albums.

    25 Jan 1:21am Reply
  • Dualtone_

    Corona Radiata.

    23 Jan 4:01pm Reply
  • Xenagos

    This album took everything I love about industrial music and added a strong and groovy twist to it. I like that. :-)

    1 Jan 5:31am Reply
  • rsk8able

    Best NIN album.

    24 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Miazga_Systemu

    thats rock!

    31 May 2014 Reply
  • Mike_910711

    Вторая часть альбома (Corona Radiata, The Four of Us Are Dying, Demon Seed) выполнена в духе Ghosts.

    17 Feb 2014 Reply
  • xardover

    So good for free album.

    18 Dec 2013 Reply
  • zkl2wwa

    My favourite NIN album.

    18 Sep 2013 Reply
  • android1985

    most underrated NIN album for sure

    27 Aug 2013 Reply
  • fozzi26

    Solid Album, Some really awesome tracks hidden on here, Great continuation of the With Teeth / Year Zero 2000s sound.

    3 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Scantily

    ...available for free from their web page? Why wasn't I informed. -_-

    28 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Scantily

    I admit, at first play I thought it was kinda crappy. Then I tried again after my Downward Spiral-obsession had faded a bit and now I'm starting to consider if this is NIN's second best album. I love the sound of it!! This is an album where the songs really fit perfectly together (those drums <3) + the cover fits perfectly to the music.

    14 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Thonydef

    still waiting for the new album and we all know it will be GREAT

    27 Jan 2013 Reply
  • lyrik_raydio

    I never realized how fantastic this album truly is. It's something great to listen to with the bass turned up a little higher than normal and headphones, to really pick up the sound. I am quite impressed.

    14 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Silvio52

    14 Dec 2012 Reply
  • Eightbit-boy

    masterpiece [2]

    7 Dec 2012 Reply
  • Aenimator


    8 Oct 2012 Reply
  • IndefiniteCure

    One of my favourite album covers, I don't know why!

    24 Jul 2012 Reply
  • TheDarkMinstrel

    I agree with Faraudo2112 !!

    16 Jul 2012 Reply
  • All 418 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners