We Float EP

8Eat8 Records
Running length
5 tracks
Running time



    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Beggar free download 2:55 117
2 We Float free download 3:10 120
3 Handcuffs free download 3:06 212
4 Mama's Boy free download 2:52 44
5 Let it Be free download 1:39 83

About this album

released 01 May 2010
* Jon Alvin - Recording Engineer, Mixing, shouting(1)
* Bob Buckstaff - Bass, shouting(1)
* Chris Faller - Additional engineering & Juno-D(1&3), percussion(3)
* Cory Healey - Drums, shouting(1), pot lids(3)
* Mike Maimone - Wurlitzer, Vocals, organ & chains(3)
* All on production
* Mastered by Jason Ward at Chicago Mastering
* Songs written/© 2010 Mike Maimone & Mutts Music

We Float EP is the 2nd release from Mutts, a keys-based trio from Chicago. The EP was tracked primarily live to tape over 3 days at a warehouse on the North side of Chicago. It was co-produced with engineer Jon Alvin, and tracked to a 1960’s tape machine, with minimal overdubs and no use of auto-tune.

“Rough-around-the-edges rock filled with melodic riffs and interesting ideas. Right off the start, you’re smacked in the face by the riff of “Beggar”, a loud, fuzzy and distorted piece of lo-fi goodness. A recommended listen. Give it a go.” - HolyFuckingShit40000.com

“Raw, raunchy, good rock stuff” - OfftheDial.com

“Mutts ooze energy and passion, however they do not use punchy volume to disguise any weaknesses, in fact quite the opposite, yes they are ‘loud’ but they are a tight well crafted group of musicians worthy of closer inspection.” - BeehiveCandy.com

Other releases

Listening Trend

220listeners all time
1,453scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.