New Born (6:05)

Cover of Origin of Symmetry

From Origin of Symmetry and 38 other releases

“New Born” is a song by the English band Muse available on the eponymous single, the album Origin of Symmetry, the live album HAARP and on the Hullabaloo Live DVD.

The main piano melody is based on broken chords, a technique used in numerous other Muse songs, such as “Sunburn” and “Bliss”.

The band is known for performing modified, more elaborate versions of the song when playing live. In particular, Matt Bellamy now plays a slightly re-worked piano part during the intro, and substitutes the tremolo technique used in the solo for tapping. At the end of the song, Bellamy plays a riff from Rage Against the Machine’s cover of “Microphone Fiend” or Deftones “Headup”.

Matthew Bellamy said of the song: “It’s about a semi-fear of the evolution of technology, and how in reality it’s destroying all humanity. My fear is that we can’t control it because it’s moving faster than we are, so the songs setting myself in a location in the future where the body is no longer important and everyone’s plugged into a network. The opening line is ‘link it to the world’, so it’s connecting yourself on a worldwide scale and being born into another reality.” The song was also remixed by Paul Oakenfold for the movie Swordfish, although it doesn’t appear in the movie, it appears on the soundtrack.


Everyone’s tags

More tags

Play with Spotify

Albums featuring this track (39)

Similar Tracks

  Track   Duration Listeners
Muse - Bliss 4:12 666,103
Muse - Plug In Baby 3:40 809,497
Radiohead - Creep 3:55 1,450,415
Radiohead - Karma Police 4:21 1,491,191
The White Stripes - Seven Nation Army 3:50 1,302,984
Placebo - Battle for the Sun 5:33 242,279

Listening Trend

721,245listeners all time
5,881,503scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners