The New Danger

Release date
26 Oct 2004
Running length
17 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 The Boogie Man Song 2:23 57,034
2 Freaky Black Greetings 2:20 38,607
3 Ghetto Rock 3:53 63,340
4 Zimzallabim 3:43 42,268
5 Blue Black Jack 5:46 38,710
6 Bedstuy Parade & Funeral March 4:33 28,290
7 Sex, Love & Money 4:10 27,855
8 Sunshine 4:26 69,493
9 Close Edge 3:10 51,320
10 The Panties 4:11 56,446
11 War 3:07 37,394
12 Grown Man Business 3:24 15,081
13 Modern Marvel 9:21 33,013
14 Life Is Real 3:12 36,515
15 The Easy Spell 5:33 30,107
16 The Beggar 5:20 35,911
17 Champion Requiem 4:54 31,154

About this album

The New Danger is the second studio album by American hip hop artist Mos Def, released October 19, 2004 on Rawkus and Geffen Records in the United States. The album was also released in Canada and continental Europe through Geffen, and it featured distribution in the United Kingdom on Island Records. It is the follow-up to his breakthrough solo effort Black on Both Sides (1999), after which he further involved himself in a film and stage career.

Production for the album was handled by Mos Def, Kanye West, 88 Keys, Minnesota, Warryn Campbell, and Psycho Les. Primarily a hip hop album, it also exhibits musical styles such jazz, blues, and rock music with an experimental, jam session-atmosphere. It also features contributions from Mos Def’s rock musical project Black Jack Johnson, which was named after boxing champion Jack Johnson and consists of guitarist Dr. Know, keyboardist Bernie Worrell, bassist Doug Wimbish, and drummer Will Calhoun. Upon release, The New Danger received generally mixed or average reviews from music critics, based on an aggregate score of 59/100 from Metacritic. Critics of the album were divided in their responses by its uneveness and sprawl.

Other releases

Listening Trend

152,147listeners all time
2,399,091scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.