Years of Refusal

lost highway records
Release date
17 Feb 2009
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Something Is Squeezing My Skull 2:38 83,301
2 Mama Lay Softly on the Riverbed 3:53 62,100
3 Black Cloud 2:48 64,483
4 I'm Throwing My Arms Around Paris 2:31 103,992
5 All You Need Is Me 3:12 112,677
6 When Last I Spoke to Carol 3:24 59,000
7 That's How People Grow Up 3:00 120,010
8 One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell 2:57 60,123
9 It's Not Your Birthday Anymore 5:10 56,242
10 You Were Good in Your Time 5:01 49,742
11 Sorry Doesn't Help 4:03 50,133
12 I'm OK by Myself 4:48 53,248

About this album

Years of Refusal is the ninth solo album by Morrissey. It was released on February 16, 2009 in the UK and on February 17, 2009 in the US. He self described it as his “strongest work to date”.

The album was recorded at Conway Studios (Los Angeles, United States) and it features musical compositions by frequent collaborators: Boz Boorer, Alain Whyte and Jesse Tobias. It was produced by Jerry Finn, who worked on You Are The Quarry. Some of his previous work included a wide array of punk rock acts such as Blink 182, Green Day, Rancid, Pennywise, Sum 41 and AFI - among others.

The photo on the album cover is a portrait by Jake Walters. The baby pictured with Morrissey is Sebastien Pesel-Browne, who is the son of Charlie Browne, Morrissey’s assistant tour manager.

Other releases

Listening Trend

141,405listeners all time
3,613,380scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners