Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Meschede, Germany (1987 – 1998, 2010 – present)

Morgoth is a German band that was formed in 1987 by Rüdiger Hennecke and Carsten Otterbach in Meschede. Originally the name “Cadaverous Smell” was used and the band played grindcore / noise style. When Harry Busse joined the band they renamed themselves to “Minas Morgul”. In 1987 the band settled on Morgoth when singer and bass-player Marc Grewe joined the band. The name was derived from the epithet of the original dark lord Melkor in J.R.R Tolkien’s Middle-earth Legendarium. They recorded the “Pits of Utumno” demo on four tracks in 1988, which eventually led to the band being signed with Century Media, which had just started.

In 1989, Morgoth recorded their second demo “Resurrection Absurd” in a twenty-four-track studio, which was released by Century Media in the same year as an EP. The band then toured Germany in support of Pestilence and Autopsy. “The Eternal Fall” was recorded shortly after the tour finished, which was quickly followed by a second tour with Demolition Hammer and Obituary. Grewe stopped playing bass and Sebastian Swart joined as the bass player.

In February 1991, the first actual full-length album was recorded in the Woodhouse studios, titled Cursed. To promote the album the band supported Kreator and Biohazard on a US tour and another European tour with Immolation and Massacre. Most of the band then relocated to Dortmund. Morgoth took a break then and only to return in 1993 with the album Odium. More touring followed, with Tankard, Unleashed and Tiamat. Nevertheless most of the band members started to lose interest in an active music career and ventured in other directions.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

19,854listeners all time
544,611scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • mikolajlip

    I like polish Morgoth

    22 Jun 12:15pm Reply
  • SyntheticCorps6

    The new Album is great..glad me :)

    8 May 2:20pm Reply
  • psboy

    That's what I call DEATH!

    24 Apr 8:13pm Reply
  • D00M4CHINE

    wow new album.

    23 Apr 8:21am Reply
  • RedSun_

    New Killer Photo From The Current Lineup:

    18 Apr 2:54pm Reply
  • KeenanJohnston

    Streaming the new album now. Sounds great, my kind of death metal.

    7 Apr 1:52pm Reply
  • MrSelfcaged

    awesome new album

    5 Apr 5:24am Reply
  • edward_the_V

    хорошо, да. не зря почти два десятка лет молчали. Не скажу, что мегабомба, но пойдет, выше среднего уровня) в одиннадцатом треке промелькнул колокол - респект, обожаю такое вкрапление в Дэте

    3 Apr 6:47pm Reply
  • Metal_Markus

    The new album "Ungod" is probably gonna be one of the best Death Metal releases of 2015. Let's see what other bands will come up with. "Ungod" totally blew me away! Everybody who may think that they will lack anything due to Marc Grewe not singing on the album can relax. Karsten 'Jagger' Jäger is the best replacement they could have come up with. Actually he's an enrichtment to their sound since he's got those early 90s Death Metal vocals down like hardly anybody else. Listening to "Ungod" makes you travelling back in time, but at the same time delivers something fresh with a proper production which doesn't sound too modern though. Really good job! Morgoth is finally back with a new record, and stronger than ever!

    3 Apr 7:29am Reply
  • WoLf_digger

    I am totally satisfied with new album, finally a good old school release from some old band, who came back.

    2 Apr 11:53pm Reply
  • Maquina_Muerte

    it's a pretty good album actually, eventhough it's an album without Grewe on vocals....

    30 Mar 12:12am Reply
  • Hermes3megisto

    "Ungod" made my day!

    28 Mar 6:31pm Reply
  • semarik

    "Ungod" album is the bomb!

    27 Mar 9:45pm Reply
  • king_confused

    Bloodchamber-Review zu "Ungod" (8/10) auf:

    20 Mar 5:38pm Reply
  • versionfiv

    well, it used to be called 'Related artists'. at least they changed that.

    30 Oct 2014 Reply
  • Thorgrimm6

    "Do people actually think that the similar artists are handpicked according how close they actually sound? It's based on tags and listener habits." Doesn't make it any less stupid.

    3 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Covenantt

    Marc Grewe's vocals just sound really bad on the new single. He has lost all the violence from the vocals.

    3 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Tuberkulloosi

    "Carving a giant" is my favourite Morgoroth song.

    12 Aug 2014 Reply
  • plahha

    новый сингл образца 91-93 годов

    11 Aug 2014 Reply
  • K696

    MORGOTH !!!

    1 Aug 2014 Reply
  • All 253 shouts

Top Listeners