Loading player…

Large artwork

Milestones is an album recorded in February and March 1958 by Miles Davis. It is renowned for including Miles' first forays into the developing modal jazz experiments, as noticed on the piece "Milestones" (not to be confused with "Miles", recorded by Davis in 1948), which would be followed to its logical conclusion on Kind of Blue. It was also the last time the rhythm section of Jones, Garland and Chambers would ever play with Miles on record.

Coltrane's return to… read more



Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

  • This one deserves much more attention than it gets. It's a very important bridge between the earier Bop/Bop-related stuff and the upcoming Modal phase. Of course that wouldn't mean much if the quality of the music wasn't there; fortunately it is, being one of the most musically accomplished albums of Miles' long and distinguished career. The addition of Cannonball Adderley to the quintet was huge, Philly Joe Jones was just murderously awesome at this point (Jazz has seen a lot of amazing drummers throughout the years, but I think even more than guys like Buddy Rich, Art Blakey and Max Roach, Philly Joe Jones is the best I've ever heard; he's particularly great on Sonny Rollins' Newk's Time from the previous year and this album, but it's no coincidence he shows up on a TON of the best Jazz recordings ever), Paul Chambers and Red Garland are at their best, and of course Miles was one of the best and most distinctive trumpet players in the world by now. Buy, borrow or steal this ASAP.
  • Masterpiece. Round About Midnight vol 2.
  • needs the tracklist for the 1958 LP . .
  • Underrated. This album is so catchy.
  • Such a lively and energetic album. Excellent the whole way through.
  • One of Miles' best albums, IMO. Deserves more praise.
  • makes me so happy! masterpiece
  • what is thissss
  • The track list is fucked up
  • My fave Miles album by far!

API Calls