Running length
6 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Prelude (Part I) 25:55 1,605
1 Prelude 32:35 4,631
2 Prelude (Part II) 6:32 1,150
3 Maiysha 12:17 14,400
1 Interlude 26:14 5,529
2 Theme From Jack Johnson 25:25 6,083

About this album

Miles Davis trumpet, organ
Sonny Fortune soprano & alto saxophones, flute
Pete Cosey synthesizer, electric guitar, percussion
Reggie Lucas electric guitar
Michael Henderson electric bass
Al Foster drums
Mtume congas, water drums, rhythm box, percussion
Producer Teo Macero
Cover art: Elena Pavlov, photo David Gahr
Recorded live at Osaka Festival Hall, Osaka, Japan on February 1, 1975
Columbia double CD 467897 2 - publ. 1976, CD 1991

Other releases

Listening Trend

9,774listeners all time
49,197scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • optimistic_tour

    The group playing live on this album bangs harder than any rock band I've ever heard, period. This fucker will melt your face off twice over before the first song is done.

    3 Sep 2014 Reply
  • whalleywhat

    We need a high quality version of the Tadanori Yokoo cover art. There's a decent scan around with the obi strip still on it.

    5 Mar 2013 Reply
  • RussellChap

    Great...I can't find a superlative for this album & 1970's Miles

    29 Jan 2012 Reply
  • Pulverie76

    So hard to tell wich one is the best but this album is from the top 3 of mister Davis.

    16 Jun 2011 Reply
  • Theeboon

    Woops here's the best record ever.

    14 Feb 2011 Reply
  • Kapitol21

    Unbelievable. The amount of sounds on this record is worth every percent of your attention span.

    6 Jan 2010 Reply
  • Leeeeebs

    bomb album, i'm about to look up Reggie Lucas. I'm impressed, but then again, nearly any musician who plays with Miles is impressive.

    6 Aug 2009 Reply
  • Sooperglitcher


    19 Jul 2009 Reply
  • Jazzylicious187

    Not From This Planet....

    27 Mar 2009 Reply
  • DrLorenzo

    Probably the best live concert ever recorded.

    5 Nov 2008 Reply
  • Cassandra-Leo

    simply mind-blowing. I'd love to listen to this while on some kind of hallucinogens.

    1 Mar 2008 Reply
  • srcosmo

    Best album of the '70s.

    20 Mar 2007 Reply

Top Listeners