HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I

Release date
1 May 1995
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Billie Jean 4:53 1,030,845
2 Way You Make Me Feel 4:57 3,582
3 Black or White 4:16 611,721
4 Rock with You 3:17 408,773
5 She's Out of My Life 3:37 166,583
6 Bad 4:07 563,598
7 I Just Can't Stop Loving You 4:19 279,087
8 Man in the Mirror 5:19 528,848
9 Thriller 5:14 922,997
10 Beat It 4:17 915,968
11 Girl Is Mine 3:42 1,721
12 Remember the Time 3:58 345,479
13 Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough 6:05 351,960
14 Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' 6:03 416,687
15 Heal the World 6:24 286,983

About this album

HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I (usually shortened to HIStory) is a two disc ninth studio album by American songwriter and recording artist Michael Jackson, released on June 16, 1995 by Epic Records. A majority of the albums tracks were written and produced by Jackson. The album was the first album to be released by Jackson since he was accused of child sexual abuse in August 1993. Recorded in September 1994, several out of fifteen songs pertain to the accusations and Jackson’s perceived mistreatment in the media, specifically the tabloids. The albums songs themes included environmental awareness, isolation, greed, and injustice.

HIStory is one of Jackson’s most controversial albums. Jackson was accused of using anti-Semitism lyrics in “They Don’t Care About Us”. Jackson stated that he did not mean any offense and, on mutiple occasions denied anti-semitism. The dispute regarding the lyrics ended with Jackson re-recording the lyrics. R. Kelly was accused of plagiarizing one of the albums songs, “You Are Not Alone”; in 2007 a judge ruled that the song was plagiarized. Six singles, and two promotional singles were released from HIStory: “Scream”, “You Are Not Alone”, both of which charted within the top five on Billboard 100 and “Earth Song”, “This Time Around”, “They Don’t Care About Us” and “Stranger in Moscow”. “This Time Around” was released as a radio only single, and “Earth Song”, “They Don’t Care About Us” and “Stranger in Moscow” were less successful within the United States, but were successful internationally; all three peaking within the top ten in multiple territories.

Other releases

Listening Trend

14,238listeners all time
414,435scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.
  • Jelboo

    Strangely, this is pretty much the correct way to tag this album.

    14 May 2013 Reply

Listening Now

Top Listeners