Elektra Records
Release date
22 Apr 2008
Running length
21 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 The Ecstasy Of Gold [Live with the SFSO] 2:30 264
2 The Call Of Ktulu [Live with the SFSO] 9:32 255
3 Master Of Puppets [Live with the SFSO] 8:52 291
4 Of Wolf And Man [Live with the SFSO] 4:17 226
5 The Thing That Should Not Be [Live with the SFSO] 7:24 210
6 Fuel [Live with the SFSO] 4:34 251
7 The Memory Remains [Live with the SFSO] 4:41 229
8 No Leaf Clover [Live with the SFSO] 5:41 282
9 Hero Of The Day [Live with the SFSO] 4:43 218
10 Devil's Dance [Live with the SFSO] 5:24 206
11 Bleeding Me [Live with the SFSO] 8:59 187
1 Nothing Else Matters [Live with the SFSO] 6:45 222
2 Until It Sleeps [Live with the SFSO] 4:28 203
3 For Whom The Bell Tolls [Live with the SFSO] 4:51 226
4 Human [Live with the SFSO] 4:18 176
5 Wherever I May Roam [Live with the SFSO] 6:59 200
6 Outlaw Torn [Live with the SFSO] 9:56 152
7 Sad But True [Live with the SFSO] 5:44 176
8 One [Live with the SFSO] 7:51 201
9 Enter Sandman [Live with the SFSO] 7:37 182
10 Battery [Live with the SFSO] 7:22 159

About this album

S&M; (an abbreviation of Symphony and Metallica) is a live album by the American heavy metal band Metallica, with the San Francisco Symphony conducted by Michael Kamen. It was recorded on April 21–22, 1999 at The Berkeley Community Theatre. This is the final Metallica album to feature Jason Newsted as bassist. S&M; contains performances of Metallica songs with additional symphonic accompaniment, which was composed by Michael Kamen, who also conducted the orchestra during the concert. The idea to combine heavy metal with an epic classical approach, as James Hetfield has stated repeatedly, was an idea of Cliff Burton. Burton’s love of classical music, especially of Johann Sebastian Bach, can be traced back to many instrumental parts and melodic characteristics in Metallica’s songwriting including songs from Ride The Lightning and Master of Puppets. The other inspiration was Deep Purple’s 1969 Concerto for Group and Orchestra. Purple revived their hybrid musical performance in 1999’s Live at the Royal Albert Hall after being notified that Metallica were doing theirs earlier that year.

In addition to songs from previous albums spanning Ride the Lightning through ReLoad, there are two new compositions: “No Leaf Clover” and “−Human”. “The Ecstasy of Gold” by Ennio Morricone, Metallica’s entrance music, was played live by the orchestra. “No Leaf Clover” has since been performed by Metallica in concert, using a recording of the orchestral prelude. “−Human”, credited as “Minus Human”, was included in the soundtrack of the Electronic Arts game NHL 99, but has never subsequently been performed.

Other releases

Listening Trend

162,403listeners all time
4,047,418scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • iamholgerczukay

    S&M it sounds like the symphony and band are fighting on stage, like two nearly unrelated performances are going on, but that's more Kamen's doing than Metallica's.

    12 Aug 4:08pm Reply
  • GackTMN

    Album kinda proves that Metallica can't do power metal.

    14 May 3:05am Reply
  • OcellatedGod

    This is tasteless kitsch.

    16 Apr 1:04am Reply
  • darkthrone

    @ hammerstrikebg many bands did it, the scorpions, deep purple...@ BlackMetallizer yes Michael Kamen composed the orchestra pieces. IMHO this live album is the best amalgamation of both worlds mainly because Metallica's songs are very suitable for Kamen's tasteful orchestration and arrangements.

    14 Apr 4:57pm Reply
  • hammerstrikebg

    @darkthrone Go check Rage's album from the 80s when they did mix heavy metal with symphonic orchestra...

    17 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Kivul

    I don't get this album, symphonic elements are out of place and awkward. Leave meshing metal with classical music to Therion.

    10 Sep 2013 Reply
  • line_genrou

    I think I hate this album more than St. Anger. Who the fuck thought it was a good idea to play a symphonic Master of Puppets? I even get offended

    5 Jul 2013 Reply
  • FIL1994

    great album!

    1 Apr 2013 Reply
  • hauzzer

    -Human is nothing special. I don't like Of Wolf and Man much in the original, this version isn't better. Hetfield could have sung better in Master of Puppets. The album sucks from No Leaf Clover to Bleeding Me, but everything else is beyond magnificent, bar the exceptions I've mentioned. Especially great are the intro (first six tracks) and the outro (last four tracks) of the album. The album has fully lived up to my expectations. I just wish they had played more "old" songs. Hopefully, they will do something like this in the future.

    1 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Olek1810

    Love this album ♥

    10 Oct 2012 Reply
  • Emparrat

    the call of ktulu gana un montón con orquesta, mucho mejor que en la versió de estudio

    5 Oct 2012 Reply
  • BlackMetallizer

    Michael Kamen album? LOL hahahah

    5 Oct 2012 Reply
  • DonMatt447

    the best album [3]

    19 Sep 2012 Reply
  • BlackMetallizer

    Nice album to listen into night.

    18 Jul 2012 Reply
  • Kind_of_blue85

    Hetfield sings great on this album and everything is very very good! p.s. The Unforgiven, Fade To Black and Sanitarium would be great in this album... I love it! [3]

    14 May 2012 Reply
  • zoingz

    No leaf clover is an amazing song

    11 Apr 2012 Reply
  • Jamie_Rae

    This is my least favorite Metallica album. I just don't like it at all. It bores me and I site this album the reason why it took me longer to get into them.

    20 Dec 2011 Reply
  • Schizoid_bear


    23 Nov 2011 Reply
  • magdaa777

    The best album. [2]

    20 Nov 2011 Reply
  • shionjiyuuko

    Hmm... for a in *.flac; do TITLE=metaflac --show-tag=TITLE Track04.flac | sed -e 's/ \[Live with the SFSO\]//' && metaflac --remove-tag=TITLE --set-tag="$TITLE" "$a"; done

    20 Nov 2011 Reply
  • All 151 shouts