Kill 'Em All

Universal Music Taiwan
Release date
18 Aug 2008
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Hit the Lights 4:17 312,673
2 The Four Horsemen 7:13 315,363
3 Motorbreath 3:08 309,301
4 Jump in the Fire 4:40 285,407
5 (Anaesthesia) Pulling Teath 4:14 2,039
6 Whiplash 4:09 316,016
7 Phantom Lord 5:00 238,648
8 No Remorse 6:24 242,984
9 Seek & Destroy 6:53 270,516
10 Metal Militia 5:11 247,021
11 The Four Horsemen (Live) 5:30 15,355
12 Whiplash (Live) 4:18 9,106

About this album

Kill ‘Em All is the first studio album by the American Thrash band ‘Metallica’. Some of the songs were written by a different line-up than the musicians that played the songs in the studio. It was recorded at Music America Studios, Rochester, New York. It was released by Megaforce on July 29 1983 and later rereleased by Elektra records.

Before Kill ‘Em All was recorded the songs were written and recorded on demo’s by James Hetfield, Lloyd Grant, Ron McGovney and Lars Ulrich. On later demo’s featuring the first full tracks that would appear on Kill ‘Em All, Dave Mustaine took Lloyd’s place and Ron was replaced by Cliff Burton. Mustaine was kicked from the band for having a bad attitude and was replaced by the final Metallica lead guitarist Kirk Hammett. With this final line-up Kill ‘Em All was recorded.

The album features a lot of Metallica’s remarkable thrash songs such as: Seek And Destroy, Whiplash and The Four Horsemen. Unlike the later albums, Kill ‘Em All didn’t have any Symphonic sounds or instruments supporting the tracks.

First title for the album was Metal Up Your Ass and it has a different cover artwork (hand with a dagger sticking out from WC). Megaforce permissed it. The title Kill Em All was what Cliff Burton said after the record company rejected the original Metal Up Your Ass cover. “Just fuckin’ kill ‘em all” were his exact words.

Other releases

Listening Trend

523,288listeners all time
11,841,411scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • SweetsInBlood

    Seek & Destroy is awesome! :D

    25 Jul 10:11am Reply
  • Weaponfire

    One of those exceedingly rare albums where I like every song.

    6 Jul 8:58pm Reply
  • LucifierSmiles

    Ride the Lightning is good but this is their best by far

    2 Jul 5:05am Reply
  • xDx3xPx

    Kill 'Em All is their best. hands down.

    17 May 2:46am Reply
  • minhabuceta

    best album

    23 Apr 10:44pm Reply
  • music_blogger

    Thanks, Mustaine! [2]

    3 Apr 2:56pm Reply
  • tarciziow

    Their best album. Pure and aggressive Thrash.

    10 Mar 6:38pm Reply
  • Unforgiven1991

    Metallica best album. 2

    13 Feb 11:56am Reply
  • pedrolhp1969

    thanks, mustaine!

    8 Feb 11:59am Reply
  • Hevi-Jorma

    Best metallica album and all thanks to mustaine (and cliff !!)

    4 Feb 10:37am Reply
  • Hevi-Jorma

    <Anticonformep > You must be retard...

    4 Feb 10:36am Reply
  • Archenemy_Roy

    Metallica best album.

    26 Jan 11:01pm Reply
  • hadomaru

    it's a good album to be sure, the the next three albums were better.

    15 Jan 7:07pm Reply

    Excellent debut album 10/10, thrashing, riffs, solos all over the place. My favorite songs off this are Metal Militia, Phantom Lord, No Remorse, Whiplash, Hit the Lights, and Motorbreath.

    13 Jan 7:15pm Reply
  • Metal_Slut

    Лучший для меня навсегда

    14 Dec 2013 Reply
  • hoermi21

    30 years of kill em all! Bang that head, that doesn't bang!!!!

    3 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Funhouse125

    It is the one of my favorite Metallica albums [3]

    30 Oct 2013 Reply
  • BanconIsGood

    só não é melhor que o Show no mercy =)

    1 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Ann_Mustaine

    It is the one of my favorite Metallica albums [2] Fucking Awesome!

    2 Aug 2013 Reply
  • mystiquevil_666

    A bit late, but I've read about that anniversary this morning. What a shame. Nevertheless, it is still one of the best album in Metallica's carreer and it is probably the most important album for thrash genre. It's just a piece of fantastic music, and it is easy to notice that record was being maked with a lot of enthusiasm, and this makes that tracks fucking great. This album simply Kills 'Em All

    26 Jul 2013 Reply
  • All 600 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners