The MU Tapes: Early Works, 1998-2011

Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 I 13:20 2
2 A 9:48 2
3 O 16:27 1
4 Sol 14:19 1
5 Origini Species 11:49 1
6 Sol (Reprise) 13:41 1
7 De Immensitate Cœli Ad Magnitudinem Terræ 3:21 1
8 De Revolutionibus Orbium Cœlestrium 26:04 1
9 De Immensitate Cœli Ad Magnitudinem Terræ (Reprise) 8:18 1
10 Navis Stellæ 15:48 1
11 Angeli Solis Nigris 16:46 5
12 Stella Atra 12:52 1
13 Incontra Comminus 12:27 3
14 Mysterium Cosmographicum 18:57 1
15 Incontra Comminus (Reprise) 5:34 1

About this album

Painstakingly crafted for longer than a decade, the MU Tapes are the monumental and sprawling final record of a patiently-served apprenticeship, documenting a personal musical odyssey pursued with single-minded devotion. Originally conceived as just one, short album, during a visionary Mayday weekend in Glasgow at the end of the twentieth century, the MU Tapes refused to stop evolving until they were almost two hundred minutes long, and had become a complete musical representation of the cosmos.

Reel One: Lux Et Tenebræ

1. I

2. A

3. O

Lux Et Tenebræ explores the primal polarity of light and shadow, and how it is by means of light and shadow’s daily and yearly rhythmic interaction that we understand and measure time. It begins with light – a bowed electric guitar drone entitled “I”, whose long, linear form describes a photon’s journey as it races through space, crossing galaxies, nebulæ and vast clouds of interstellar gas and dust. It ends in shadow, in a piece named “O” – a relentless, driving, dark, dervish whirl of electric guitars in intricate arabesque layers. It centres on “A”, which thus lies at the border between light and shadow – the theme here is time, with rumbling, decaying, entropic synths winding inky black, heat-death drones through the sounds of ticking clocks, cawing crows and hissing, rattling percussion, shivering and shaking like the chains of restless ghosts.

Reel Two: Harmonia Mundi

1. Sol

2. Origini Species

3. Sol (Reprise)

Listening Trend

1listener all time
2scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more

Listen to, buy or share


  • 2
  • 1
Not many people have scrobbled The MU Tapes: Early Works, 1998-2011 recently.
Learn more about scrobbling


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.