Everyone’s tags

More tags

About this album

Maya (stylised as /\/\/\Y/\) is the third studio album by British-Sri Lankan recording artist M.I.A., released in July 2010 on her own label, N.E.E.T Recordings, through XL Recordings and Interscope Records. Songwriting and production for the album were primarily handled by M.I.A., Blaqstarr and Rusko. M.I.A.’s long-time associates Diplo and Switch also worked on the album, which was mainly composed and recorded at M.I.A.’s house in Los Angeles.

The album’s tracks centre on the theme of information politics and are intended to evoke what M.I.A. called a “digital ruckus”. Elements of industrial music were incorporated into M.I.A.’s sound for the first time. Several tracks from the album were made available online prior to its release, including “Born Free”, which generated controversy due to its graphically violent music video.

Official release date 13 July 2010

Track listing:
01. The Message
02. Steppin Up
03. XXXO
04. Teqkilla
05. Lovalot
06. Story to Be Told
07. It Takes a Muscle
08. It Iz What It Iz
09. Born Free
10. Meds and Feds
11. Tell Me Why
12. Space
13. Internet Connection
14. Illygirl
15. Believer
16. Caps Lock

Other releases

Listening Trend

18,744listeners all time
628,770scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

Top Listeners