Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Japan (1981 – present)

Loudness is a Japanese band formed in 1981 by guitarist Akira Takasaki and drummer Munetaka Higuchi. They were the first Japanese heavy metal act signed to a major label in the United States, releasing twenty-three studio albums (five in America) by the end of 2009 and reaching the Billboard Top 100 in their moment of maximum international popularity. Despite numerous changes in their roster, the band continued their activities during the 90’s, finally reuniting the original line-up in 2000. On November 30, 2008 original drummer Munetaka Higuchi died from liver cancer at a hospital in Osaka at age 49. Loudness replaced him with Masayuki Suzuki and are still active to this day.

Back in the ‘70’s, drummer Munetaka Higuchi and guitarist Akira Takasaki played together in a pop-rock band called Lazy. In an effort to pursue their musical aspiration even farther, they split from the successful group and launched Loudness in May 1981. The duo was joined by former Earthshaker vocalist Minoru Niihara, who was devoted to soul music at the time, and Takasaki’s childhood friend Masayoshi Yamashita as the bassist.

The band went into the studio in August and three months later, the band’s debut album, The Birthday Eve, hit the stores. It was as if the relentlessly wild arming by Takasaki in the intro of the opening track was an omen of things to come, as this album ended up making a historical impact on the Japanese rock scene.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

38,000listeners all time
1,211,154scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

    iRunMadeIn From Japan)

    19 Jun 9:13pm Reply
  • AGP64X


    17 Jun 11:26am Reply
  • peliculiar

    @ Epsilon_X2008: How about Risky Woman: ;-)

    15 May 4:16pm Reply
  • Rubberbandman16

    Can't believe these guys are still around putting out good metal

    13 Apr 5:00pm Reply
  • TheOnlyMAD

    One of the best heavy metal bands ever.

    18 Mar 8:14pm Reply
  • Mii85

    But, please, let's change that 80s picture to current lineup.. This for example:

    9 Mar 8:40pm Reply
  • Mii85

    Brilliant heavy metal. Up there with Racer X, Judas Priest etc. Akira Takasaki \\m/

    9 Mar 8:35pm Reply
  • RebelAtHeart

    Literally the best. Cannot wait for Bang Your Head!!

    16 Jan 10:43am Reply
  • DevilNeko5

    Perfect. <3

    14 Jan 11:23pm Reply
  • AngryvikinG

    Clockwork Toy!

    19 Oct 2014 Reply
  • DaiTheFlu_

    the new album is great. maybe need some time but yeah...great job again ! "Mortality" "The Best" "Greatest Ever Heavy Metal" and "Shout" are my favs

    11 Oct 2014 Reply
  • kacper92 The Sun Will Rise Again full music video is finally on. Akira is still the shredding beast! \\\\\\\\m/

    22 Jun 2014 Reply
  • afrowolf

    Who is this "Loudness"? LOUDNESS!

    13 Jun 2014 Reply
  • DaiTheFlu_

    thanks for the info kacper92 . oh boy I'm excited. Really amazed by their 2000+ music they're doing.getting better and better \\m/

    31 May 2014 Reply
  • kacper92

    New Album named "The Sun Will Rise Again" coming out in 4th June! Also Teaser for the new MV Damn, just can't wait!!! :D

    25 Apr 2014 Reply
  • stonecoldlove

    its class act not your mothers wet dream.

    21 Apr 2014 Reply
  • stonecoldlove

    buckle up.

    21 Apr 2014 Reply
  • kacper92

    @Epsilon Wasn't it Rock 'N' Roll Gypsy?

    7 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Epsilon_X2008

    I heard a song by Loudness the other day and it was really keyboard-y, but I don't remember the name. Any idea?

    10 Mar 2014 Reply
  • Eudes_Ferreira

    ATTENTION! Statement from the band regarding the U.S. tour, can be read on the band's site: "To Our Dear Fans and Supporters: We regret to inform you that we´ve had to cancel the previously announced US tour. The tour was scheduled by one of our US partners without our consent or knowledge. We were the last ones to learn about the tour itinerary only after they had already announced it publicly. As we are in the preparation of releasing an album in the US soon, touring the US on this schedule was ill timing. We tried hard to negotiate with the partner and looked for a compromise, but unfortunately, failed. We apologize to all of our fans for any inconvenience caused by this cancellation. Under better circumstances, LOUDNESS will definitely return to US. We are looking very forward to see you all at that time. Play it LOUD, LOUDNESS P.S. We will be performing at "Monsters Of Rock Cruise 2014" as scheduled"

    3 Mar 2014 Reply
  • All 327 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners