Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Little Barrie


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Little Barrie is a London based three piece band originating from Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England in 1999 before relocating to the capital in 2000. The current lineup consists of Barrie Cadogan (vocals, guitar), Lewis Wharton (bass, vocals) and Virgil Howe (drums, vocals), since Howe joined in 2007. Their sound has drawn from a mixture of influences including Garage Rock, Freakbeat, R&B, Surf, Psychedelia, Soul, Funk and Rockabilly. The band released it’s fourth album ‘Shadow’ on 26th May 2014 produced by their long time collaborators Edwyn Collins and Seb Lewsley.


Originally started as a solo project, the first Little Barrie single ‘Shrug Off Love’/’Reply Me (It Don’t Deny Me)’ released on Stark Reality in summer 2000 was a demo recorded in 1999 by Cadogan with friends Chris Lee on drums and Miles Newbold engineering the sessions and also playing organ on B side ‘Reply Me’. Shortly after Cadogan met drummer Wayne Fullwood and they began writing together as a duo. The pair played a handful of gigs without a permanent full lineup before relocating to London in September 2000 where they met bassist Lewis Wharton. The trio began playing around London clubs in late 2000 and cut two further singles for Stark Reality, ‘Don’t Call It The Truth’/’Give Me A Microphone’ in 2001 and ‘Memories Well’/’Didn’t Mean A Thing’ in 2002 both produced by Mike Burnham. The early sound of the band was heavily influenced by the rhythms of early soul, funk and R&B.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

57,403listeners all time
970,325scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners