Virgin Records
Release date
1 Jun 1999
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Live 5:10 40,949
2 Supersoulfighter 4:58 36,469
3 I Belong to You 4:17 258,674
4 Black Velveteen 4:48 115,668
5 If You Can't Say No 5:17 67,060
6 Thinking Of You 6:24 52,651
7 Take Time 4:31 32,751
8 Fly Away 3:42 593,432
9 It's Your Life 5:02 34,530
10 Straight Cold Player 4:19 35,601
11 Little Girl's Eyes 7:44 39,600
12 You're My Flavor 3:48 29,198
13 Can We Find A Reason? 6:26 29,807
14 American Woman 4:24 356,488
15 Without You 4:47 9,258

About this album

Lenny Kravitz must have realized he bottomed out with the turgid Circus, so he decided to shake things up a bit on its follow-up, 5. Like any veteran in the late ’90s, he dabbled in electronica, adding a few trip-hop loops and analog synths to his bedrock rock n’ soul. It’s enough to make 5 sound relatively fresh, at least compared to the retro dead-end of Circus, yet it sounds like Kravitz read about the idea of electronica without actually listening to any music. Anemic synths and stilted drum loops (sampled from Kravitz’s playing, not old records) are scattered throughout the record, along with vaguely distorted vocals. It’s not enough to make Kravitz sound hip, especially since he still loves endless funk jams and electric sitars, but it does revitalize his sound. At least for a little while. By the end of the album, his songwriting sounds as tired and unmemorable as on Circus. Without hooks, melodies, and style, Kravitz’s Sly, Mayfield, Hendrix, Lennon, and Prince pastiches are a bore. 5 has a few passable cuts, yet it falls short of the quirky hero worship and melodic smarts that made his first three records so enjoyable.

5 is the fifth studio album by American rock musician Lenny Kravitz, released on May 12, 1998 by Virgin Records America.

The album contained hits such as “Fly Away,” and “I Belong to You”, which helped Kravitz to expand his success in Europe. The album won two Grammys.

It was re-issued in 1999, including Lenny Kravitz’s latest single from the soundtrack of Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me, “American Woman,” plus a bonus track called “Without You”- initially a B-side to the lead single “If You Can’t Say No.”

Other releases

Listening Trend

250,243listeners all time
2,025,604scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners