Release date
22 Apr 2011
Running length
18 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Spirits’ Masquerade 6:31 129
2 Étaín 3:58 63
3 Velvet Heart 3:42 71
4 Kråkevisa 4:34 56
5 To France 4:37 75
6 Meredead 5:20 66
7 Sigrlinn 8:47 55
8 Mine tåror er ei grimme 2:54 49
9 Empty Horizon 4:58 83
10 Veritas 0:48 51
11 Nystev 4:40 52
12 Tell-Tale Eyes 3:58 52
13 Sorhleod 5:04 27
1 Njord 6:14 74
2 My Destiny 4:13 136
3 Ragnarok 5:11 53
4 elegy 5:08 225
5 Frøya’s theme 8:20 3

About this album

Meredead is the fourth studio album by the German/Norwegian / band Leaves’ Eyes. It was released on April 22, 2011 on napalm records.

On this album, the folk-to-metal ratio is a higher than in their previous releases, with strong elements from traditional Celtic, Scandinavian and mediaeval music; lyrics in Old English and Norwegian as well as English; and themes from Anglo-Saxon, Nordic and Celtic mythology; and considerably less of Alex Krull’s death metal-style vocals, as well as an overall more melodic sound.

The title is inspired by the Old English compound noun meredēað, literally “sea-death”, which is attested (in the genitive plural meredēaða) in the passage rodor swipode meredēaða mǣst, literally: “the greatest quantity of sea-deaths scourged the skies”, in Exodus, the second poem of the Junius manuscript, in the section telling the story of the Crossing of the Red Sea. Alternatively, meredēað could be translated as “sea of death” or “deadly sea” in view of a later passage in the same text: meredēað geswealh, literally “sea-death swallowed”. On the band’s website, lead vocalist Liv Kristine explicitly recommends the book The Cambridge Old English Reader by R. Marsden (2004), and quotes the explanation for meredēað given there, saying that it could be translated as “dead by the sea”.

Listening Trend

86listeners all time
4,276scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners