Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Laughing Clowns


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Laughing Clowns, commonly misspelled as The Laughing Clowns are a post punk band who formed in Sydney in 1979. In five years, the band released: three LPs, two mini albums, and various singles and compilations. Laughing Clowns sound is free jazz, bluegrass and krautrock influenced. Vocalist and guitarist Ed Kuepper and drummer Jeff Wegener are the only constant members.

They disbanded in 1985 with Kuepper continuing to record and perform under his own name.

In 1995, the Hot label released a compilation of Laughing Clowns songs with the title Golden Days: When Giants Walked the Earth.

In 2004, Kuepper and Wegener began performing together on Ed Kuepper’s MFLL project, a live performance of soundtracks to short films, and have toured Australia as a two-piece since.

Another anthology of Laughing Clowns material, Cruel but fair, was released on 3 October 2005 by the Hot label. It is a 3CD set which contains every studio recording previously released by the band.

The Laughing Clowns - with Kuepper & Wegener plus Louise Elliott on sax, Biff Millar on upright bass and Alister Spence on keyboard - played a couple of live shows in early 2009, including a unique show at Brisbane’s Gallery of Modern Art. This was their first full Brisbane show in over two decades. A live recording of parts of that show has been released.

The same band also played a few live shows in early 2010. As part of the All Tomorrow’s Parties format, they played a set which matched their “History of Rock n Roll Vol 1” compilation album from 1984.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

4,189listeners all time
64,928scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • parksize15

    Really brings out post-punk's jazz and krautrock roots.

    2 Nov 2014 Reply
  • darya_crane

    oh my gosh how awesome they are, by far the best post-punk band ever, they remain minimalistic but not primitive. and the voice sometimes reminds me of Morissey for some reason, haha

    18 Oct 2013 Reply
  • bloody_octopus


    8 Jul 2013 Reply
  • alleinstehend

    I like it!

    11 Jun 2013 Reply
  • Headphase

    i fail to understand how come they aren't known world-wide, such classic sound (2)

    20 Feb 2012 Reply
  • BlackCoffeeDuck

    The greatest band from the 80's full-stop.

    21 Sep 2011 Reply
  • czerwienruska

    i fail to understand how come they aren't known world-wide, such classic sound

    13 Apr 2010 Reply
  • surround_me

    easy to get lost in this sound. that groove

    25 Jan 2010 Reply
  • nativewaiter

    I hope they don't spike up anything nasty

    12 Jan 2010 Reply
  • NiteShok

    what a sound!

    12 Jul 2009 Reply
  • oliviascarlet

    Oh my they are so old now..

    8 Jun 2009 Reply
  • princemelon

    There is a free download of a fantastic live version of "eternally yours'' on Laughing Clowns myspace page available via the blog section. <a href=''''> </a>

    23 Oct 2008 Reply
  • runout_groove

    playing ATP Australia in january curated by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds:

    6 Oct 2008 Reply
  • princemelon

    Fans of Ed Kuepper, Laughing Clowns,The Aints and other Ed Kuepper related musical projects should check out the Prince Melon records myspace site for info on forthcoming and rare Ed Kuepper limited edition releases only avaible at shows and online Prince Melon Records A bit of history on Prince Melon. The label was initially started back in 1980 to release the music of Laughing Clowns [Ed's band after the original Saints split] Kuepper had started his musical career forming Fatal Records [with the other members of the original Saints] to release the Saints first single '[I'm ] Stranded' Prince Melon remained active for a few years in the 1980's releasing a number of Clowns records as well as singles by Out of Nowhere [featuring the talents of Peter Walsh from The Apartments] as well as Hugo Klang [featuring Ollie Olsen] Prince Melon Records is now back with an initial release of three limited edition Ed Kuepper Live, 'bootleg' style documents with more to come including a new Ed Kuepper project 'The Ascension Academy' [more on this soon]

    29 Jul 2008 Reply
  • morningside24

    Hey, join my Ed Kuepper group! Give the great man some recognition.

    11 Jan 2008 Reply
  • All 21 shouts

Top Listeners