Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Languis are an Argentinian electronic/dream-pop/post-rock duo comprised of Marcos Chloca and Alejandro Cohen now based in Los Angeles. The first Languis LP, self-titled (a 9-track instrumental CD), was released in August 1998 and was recorded on a four-track recorder at Languis’ studio. Some of the innovative techniques used in the recording of the album include the use of both analog and digital synthesizers, organs, guitars, and samplers. Last Frequency Presets was released in the spring of 1999. It was also recorded in their home studio, and composed using both analog and digital synthesizers, guitars, and vocals. Soft Music was released in February 2000 on 7”. It contains three instrumental songs that are closely related to sound collage material.

Unithematic, released in November 2000, explores the more melodic pop side of Languis, utilizing more vocals, acoustic guitars, and pianos than before. In contrast with previous releases, these songs are structured and produced with a different purpose. They are treated and understood as conventional songs with a beginning, middle, and an end. Unithematic combines elements from their past releases - the warm melodic synth sounds of Simball Sounds, the precision and complexity of Last Frequency Presets, and the sound collage feel from Soft Music. These elements, combined with gentle but deliberate lyrics, make Unithematic a subtle divergence into a pop based/post-rock song writing world.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

9,641listeners all time
59,308scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Lautreamont

    9 Dec 2013 Reply
  • caroosyrup


    6 Oct 2010 Reply
  • citizenGreen

    Hey Thanks for Posting that Bandcamp Link @Telaviation !!! Always dig these guys work.

    23 May 2010 Reply
  • telaviation

    8 Apr 2010 Reply
  • Machiventa

    wow, just discovered they released a new "rock" album last year and holy crap it's awesome as hell. not quite as dreamy as The Four Walls with just a bit more pop structures. man I wish they would just stick to dream pop/electronic rock stuff.

    28 Nov 2009 Reply
  • mars624

    u should do collabs with dj nobody more, images of april is really good.

    20 Jan 2009 Reply
  • CharlieBurgin

    Hey Guys, I'm setting up the Catalog Records account and we are being put on hold because i uploaded Leadfield and you had already uploaded that track. So if you get a message saying that someone is uploading you music its just us. If you can, please just return the message saying that it is ok so i can continue making the page. thanks, -charlie

    27 Mar 2008 Reply
  • suckothatratjoe

    come to minnesota

    18 Feb 2008 Reply
  • tabandoned

    Languis的音乐就像隐藏在一块朔大有色胶片的背后被 放大上色后渲染出来的一种独特的精神.

    15 Oct 2007 Reply
  • Machiventa

    i agree. one of my favorite discoveries of the past year. yes please come to denver!

    23 Mar 2007 Reply
  • shorelinedream

    simply amazing! Times are Changing is quite a track. Come to Denver.

    18 Jan 2007 Reply

Top Listeners