Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Japan (1991 – present)

Formed in 1991, L’Arc~en~Ciel is one of the most popular bands from Japan. The band consists of vocalist hyde, leader and bassist tetsuya, guitarist ken, and drummer yukihiro, who replaced drummer sakura in 1997. From their beginnings in Osaka, Japan, they previously included guitarist hiro and drummer pero. All four members are established composers which adds variety to their catalog of songs. Their music ranges from ballads, to , to light tunes.

Their debut single Blurry Eyes released in 1994 was used as the opening theme for the animated TV show DNA². In late 1996, L’Arc~en~Ciel gained worldwide attention for the first time after the release of their fourth album, True. This album includes the single the Fourth Avenue Cafe, which was used as an ending theme for the popular animated TV show Rurouni Kenshin. However, drummer sakura was arrested for drug possession and consequently all L’Arc~en~Ciel merchandise was removed from store shelves. The release of their single the Fourth Avenue Cafe was canceled and the song was immediately removed from the TV series.

sakura left the band in 1997, and former die in cries drummer yukihiro replaced him for the REINCARNATION tour that year, subsequently serving as a support member for their first single after the incident, 虹 (Niji). Eventually, yukihiro officially joined the band and released the album HEART in 1998.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

269,198listeners all time
21,225,283scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • peter_out

    Now you can show off as Hyde and sing Laruku and lots of other Japanese music in the Japanese regionfree karaoke app JOYSOUND.TV Plus for PS3/PS4 (it's regionfree for PS4 at least)! Which Laruku songs do you dare not to sing? Check out the videos of the Japanese guys singing Flower. So good!

    21 May 9:01pm Reply
  • Divlyfein

    L'Arc~en~Ciel is a band I needed to really listen to for the longest time. I started from the beginning with Dune and Tierra and I'm in love. They are magical albums. Can't wait to explore the rest of their material!

    16 May 12:52am Reply
  • xStrikeBassProx

    v Lmao

    29 Apr 1:47pm Reply
  • ruki11

    Oh the main pic....

    29 Mar 9:44am Reply
  • x03c6

    Japan is a sick country but has a very powerful culture that influences the younger generation. For example, manga aimed to standardize child pornography, incest in the family, the extreme violence and especially homosexuality. If you read yaoi or ero-guro, you will know that what I say is the truth. I'm not very religious but they remind me of the story of Sodom and Gomorrah in the Bible. I think it is because of their obscenity that God hates them. Japanese boys from boys band that they produce are very effeminate (to not to say "queer as folk") but girls just think they are "kawaii" .. In addition, they live in an inhumane society that hates foreigners, but everyone thinks it's wonderful. Recently I read the prophecies of a man called Nicolaas van Rensburg extremely popular in Europe who predicted with infinite detail all the world wars and the tragic ending of this country for exactly the same reasons I just mentioned. 私はあなたに真実を伝える許し。

    22 Mar 3:35am Reply
  • Pretsy

    v Mr. Children took that title ages ago, rofl. @xclaimation: didn't Tets play guitar in "TRUST" as well? At least live-wise...

    5 Mar 11:06pm Reply
  • Doe_A_Deer

    @itakeaselfie GLAY is the Japanese Beatles :P just sayin'

    5 Mar 5:48am Reply
  • itakeaselfie

    in my opinion the japanese beatles

    2 Mar 5:00am Reply
  • adilazainal

    honey! always be my most favorite

    19 Nov 2014 Reply
  • xclaimation

    EVERLASTING sure is a pretty boring song live but seeing tetsuya play a guitar!

    15 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Pequitass

    i ♥ them ^^

    5 Nov 2014 Reply
  • MackRaven

    Which is right? The last one - with all albums and the release dates for these albums and NO REDIRECTIONS. Wtf?

    23 Oct 2014 Reply
  • stayaway357

    Everlasting is a nice song though not exactly my favorite. Wish it also had a B-side, or a Hydeless version at least. *sighs*

    28 Sep 2014 Reply
  • abimanyudamar

    The Fourth Avenue Cafe <3

    22 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Ranisme

    God bless you, my Muse...

    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Neetoperz

    "Gatunku muzycznego, w którym powstają ich utwory nie można jednoznacznie określić" - no ja nie mam z tym kłopotu: wiocha rokowa. Z japońskich zespołów do słuchania nadaje się tylko Deep Purple ;) I recenzja dla kalek nie rozumiacych mojego lengwidża: big japanese shit.

    29 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Nekoppy

    EVERLASTING bored. -flee from here- xD

    15 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Emi95chan

    I'm in love with EVERLASTING.

    15 Aug 2014 Reply
  • sbirkoff

    Listen to Sakurai Atsushi's version of I Like Chopin by Gazebo called 雨音はショパンの調べ -I LIKE CHOPIN-. Also try Kobayashi Asami's version of I Like Chopin 雨音はショパンの調べ.

    3 Aug 2014 Reply
  • TarantulaEyes

    EVERLASTING has a beautiful instrumental, as always, and hyde's voice is amazing, also as always. It makes me think of a dark, sharp lullaby. It's very different! I'm not too sure how to feel about it.

    31 Jul 2014 Reply
  • All 4650 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners