Fire Dances

Release date
9 Jun 2008
Running length
18 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 The Gathering (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:11 112
2 Fun And Games (2007 Digital Remaster) 4:05 97
3 Rejuvenation (2007 Digital Remaster) 4:00 93
4 Frenzy (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:46 81
5 Harlequin (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:56 68
6 Feast Of Blaze (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:33 101
7 Song And Dance (2007 Digital Remaster) 5:10 72
8 Dominator (2007 Digital Remaster) 4:27 67
9 Let's All Go (To The Fire Dances) (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:19 87
10 Lust Almighty (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:56 61
11 Me Or You (2007 Digital Remaster) 3:12 59
12 Wilful Days (2007 Digital Remaster) 5:01 53
13 Dominator (Version) (2007 Digital Remaster) 5:33 42
14 The Gathering (Original Alt Version) 3:26 443
15 Dominator (John Peel Session) 5:28 237
16 Frenzy (John Peel Session) 3:38 232
17 Wilful Days (John Peel Session) 5:57 204
18 Harlequin (John Peel Session) 3:54 202

About this album

Fire Dances is the fourth studio album by English post-punk group Killing Joke and the first to feature new bass player Paul Raven. It was released in July 1983.

The album was remastered and reissued in 2008, with eight bonus tracks.
The bonus tracks include the non-album single “Me or You?”/”Wilful Days”, an alternate version of “Dominator” (B-side to “Let’s All Go (to the Fire Dances)”), an unreleased early version of “The Gathering” and four tracks from a John Peel session from 1983.

After stalling a bit with their 1982 album “Revelations”, Killing Joke nearly split up, with lead singer Jaz Coleman disappearing to Iceland in order to “survive the apocalypse.”

By the time Coleman returned to the band, bassist Youth was gone and replaced by Paul Raven, a perfect fit who would stay on board as the band found its way up the charts over the next few releases. As a reaction to all these comings and goings, this is a decidedly tribal album that opens with a track called “The Gathering,” follows it with the “join the mob” anthem “Fun & Games,” and features words like “we” and “us” throughout the album. The ultimate communal moment, “Let’s All Go (To the Fire Dances),” is also the key track, with guitarist Geordie Walker bouncing between crunching barre chords and a Duane Eddy-on-steroids riff while Raven and drummer Paul Ferguson throb like a veteran rhythm section. Even if Coleman’s lyrics are filled with venom as always, he’s rounding up allies to fight the system here and considering the idea of connecting with his audience rather than just confronting them.

Other releases

Listening Trend

12,735listeners all time
173,496scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners