Vinyl Confessions

Running length
20 tracks
Running time


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Play the Game Tonight (2011 Remaster) 3:27 24
1 Play the Game Tonight 3:25 64,262
2 Right Away 4:05 0
2 Right Away (2011 Remaster) 4:07 0
3 Fair Exchange 5:00 3,891
3 Fair Exchange (2011 Remaster) 5:02 0
4 Chasing Shadows 3:19 4,606
4 Chasing Shadows (2011 Remaster) 3:21 13
5 Diamonds and Pearls (2011 Remaster) 4:51 0
5 Diamonds And Pearls 4:49 1
6 Face It (2011 Remaster) 4:17 0
6 Face It 4:16 3,967
7 Windows (2011 Remaster) 3:32 0
7 Windows 3:33 0
8 Borderline 4:00 3,733
8 Borderline (2011 Remaster) 4:00 10
9 Play On (2011 Remaster) 3:32 0
9 Play On 3:32 3,852
10 Crossfire (2011 Remaster) 6:36 0
10 Crossfire 6:31 3,913

About this album

Vinyl Confessions is the eighth studio album, and ninth album overall, by American rock band Kansas, released in 1982.

Vinyl Confessions was a major turning point for the band. After the conversion of both guitarist/keyboard player Kerry Livgren and bass player Dave Hope to born again Christianity, and the greater focus that Livgren placed on Christianity in his lyrics, lead singer Steve Walsh became disenchanted with the direction that Kansas was taking and left to form his own band, Streets. Walsh also contributed much as a songwriter, so the band was forced to find a new lead singer who could not only blend well with the band’s style of music, but provide new material for the upcoming album. After a long audition process, the choice came down to three strong candidates: Warren Ham, Michael Gleason and John Elefante. The band eventually settled on Elefante, and during the phone conversation in which he was offered the job, Livgren discovered that Elefante, too, was a Christian. (In fact, so were Ham and Gleason, who would also join Kansas on their next two tours, but in supportive roles.) The Christian connections didn’t end there—one of the co-writers of the band’s lead single, “Play the Game Tonight,” Rob Frazier, was just starting his long career as a Contemporary Christian music, or CCM, performer.

All these Christians together had a significant impact on the lyrical direction of the album. “Fair Exchange” described the world under the rule of the Anti-Christ, while “Chasing Shadows” pointed out the frustration in seeking anything outside Biblical truth.

Other releases

Listening Trend

Sorry, there was a problem fetching these charts. Please try again in a few minutes.

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • joshmattg

    fuckin chill out, i dont know why you dont like this album its pure musical genius

    4 Nov 2010 Reply
  • arglactable

    What a complete piece of shit. Just more proof that the one thing that Jesus has ever been consistently good for is ruining good music.

    29 Oct 2010 Reply