Sad Wings of Destiny

Running length
9 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
Epitaph 3:07 42,060
Tyrant 4:41 65,364
Island of Domination 4:24 42,773
Deceiver 2:43 54,866
Prelude 2:02 46,553
Dreamer Deceiver 5:54 51,895
Victim of Changes 7:23 111,346
The Ripper 2:48 113,444
Genocide 5:45 51,743

About this album

Sad Wings of Destiny is the second album by the British heavy metal group Judas Priest, released in 1976.

The cover art for the album, titled Fallen Angels, was illustrated by Patrick Woodroffe. It is best known for introducing the pitchfork-like symbol known as the “Judas Priest Cross,” as worn by the angel.

Sad Wings of Destiny was Judas Priest’s second and final studio record made while under contract with Gull Records, an independent UK company. Despite critical acclaim, the band was struggling financially due to lack of support from the label. Shortly after changing management, the band severed their ties with Gull and signed with Columbia Records. Consequently, Judas Priest lost all rights to the recordings on their first two albums and to all demo recordings made during the sessions while under contract with Gull. Sad Wings of Destiny was initially published and distributed by Janus Records in the United States.

Whilst the band lost the rights to recording royalties, they obtained copyright ownership of the songs themselves, many of which became staples for their live shows. “Victim of Changes”, “The Ripper”, “Tyrant” and “Genocide” appear on Judas Priest Unleashed in the East, a live album released by CBS in 1979. “Diamonds and Rust”, a Joan Baez song originally recorded for Sad Wings, but omitted from the final album, was re-recorded for Sin After Sin, their first CBS release, and also on Unleashed. Gull later released the band’s original recording of “Diamonds and Rust” on a ‘best of’ album and their rerelease of Rocka Rolla.

Other releases

Listening Trend

137,423listeners all time
1,520,806scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Ravenkraft

    Masterpiece, Priests finest hour.

    3 Jul 8:56pm Reply
  • Maco097

    Their best.

    23 Jun 1:50am Reply
  • firefly2811

    best priest for me too. with a great cover also

    8 Jun 9:41pm Reply
  • Peace_Sells86

    Legendary album. Got some of metal's greatest guitar hooks.

    17 May 10:58am Reply
  • Guitarboy444

    Even though I think Stained Class is more concise, this will always be my favorite Judas Priest album. The songwriting here is excellent. The only bad thing I'd say is that the drummer is not Les Binks, but he gets the job done.

    7 May 2:36am Reply
  • onlycharles

    Classic album. The best Judas Priest album from the 70's age!

    25 Mar 5:42pm Reply
  • Luccas_Fernande

    one of my favorite albums

    6 Feb 9:03pm Reply
  • DreamyGirl-

    amazing album! <3

    4 Feb 3:37am Reply
  • NinnyHonestLiar

    Best Priest album for me [3] .Perfect album from start to finish and the artwork is stunning.

    17 Jan 4:44pm Reply
  • Alpharon_

    WTF with those tendencies...

    14 Jan 1:52pm Reply
  • Ughel1

    Best Priest album for me [2]

    8 Dec 2014 Reply
  • althefknamsrtkn

    Is there another traditional metal album that has thematically evolving riffs and motifs? This is half rhetorical.

    25 Sep 2014 Reply
  • dark_wisdom

    Even the cover art for this album is a masterpiece

    17 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Razzor303

    My favourite Pirest album, everything is perfect on this one even cover!!

    11 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Ambient2100

    The best of Priest - Classic album.

    26 Apr 2014 Reply
  • OliverUFT

    Nice cover art

    25 Apr 2014 Reply
  • rOnieAirhead

    probably the greatest heavy metal album ever recorded along with Stained Class, this shit is so much ahead of its time.

    27 Mar 2014 Reply
  • Cacnep

    Something's fucked up with the tracklist.

    1 Mar 2014 Reply
  • MikeySchenker

    V That was the same on the one I owned years ago, until I lent it out to someone, never got it back (got lost). He did gave me buy me another copy (for compensation) that one is from 1975 and it starts with Victim. Confusing...

    12 Feb 2014 Reply
  • MoonOfNeptune

    Well, my vinyl (French version, pressed in 1976) has this order, what I consider right: Prelude, Tyrant, Genocide, Epitaph, IoD, VoC, The Ripper, DD, Deceiver.

    28 Nov 2013 Reply
  • All 205 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners