Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


JOSIAH are what classic UK rock is all about! A mid Atlantic blend of ballsy British grit colliding with a rock n’ roll swagger born of the US. Josiah was Mathew Bethancourt (vocal and guitar) now with Cherry Choke, Sie Beasley (bass and vocal) and Keith Beacom (drums) with a shared love of the riff, the groove and a big heavy beat. Josiah entered the game early in 2000, formed by Mathew Bethancourt, Sie Beasley (and then drummer) Chris Jones quickly establishing themselves on the worlds underground scene as a powerful riff machine.

Early shows with (amongst others) The Lost Prophets, Nebula, Zen Guerilla and Modey Lemon, gained the band respect from crowds, press and peers alike, showcasing a fresh,soulful and high octane live rock experience. In June 2001 the group reinforced their rising status with heavy touring in the UK and their debut release “Out Of The First Rays” (the limited edition 10” ep released via Cargo Records) which rapidly disappeared from stores as Marianne Hobbs aired its killer cut “Malpaso” on her Radio One Rock Show and Metal Hammer included another ep track “Spacequake” on a compilation CD along side a live review and interview with the band.

The release of the eponymous debut album “Josiah” in April 2002 via UK independent Molten Records was a logical progression for the bands brand of heavy acid rock and led to some fine reviews. A 20 date UK tour in May 2002 reinforced the groups status as a not to be missed high energy live experience and “Malpaso” appeared on the movie soundtracks of snowboarding masterpiece King Size, gritty British drama A Way Of Life staring Brenda Blethyn and the Channel 5 skater show RAD.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

13,541listeners all time
135,165scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Deadfield

    Sie Beasley and Mathew Bethancourt are joining forces once again under the name of '6THExperiment'. Gregg Hunt & Dan Lockton of Cherry Choke and Tia Marklund & Daniel Israelsson of Dexter Jones' Circus Orchestra complete the line up.

    28 Jun 2011 Reply
  • Deadfield

    The new Cherry Choke full length "A night in the arms of Venus" will be relesead by Elektrohasch 31.07.11

    23 May 2011 Reply
  • cokeboy2

    Metalcore? Meh, meh.

    20 May 2011 Reply
  • nikkirocker

    Buenisima banda =)

    28 Jan 2011 Reply
  • furio78

    Es que son un puto grupazo

    16 Sep 2010 Reply
  • YoQueSe666

    Malpaso es un puto temazo

    31 Jul 2010 Reply
  • JOE_Nevernamed

    GOOD! Rock on!

    24 Jul 2010 Reply
  • RaymondEBot

    nice grooves

    2 Jul 2010 Reply
  • Deadfield

    The eagerly anticipated third and final album from The Kings Of Frog Island completes the unique trilogy. A psychotropic journey through the demon infested darklands of the mind, body and soul, released by Elektrohasch July 2010. Just stick it on the back of your tongue and swallow it...

    1 Jul 2010 Reply
  • OskMaz

    Rly great band, i've been listening them for a while now and i can't get enough of them, Harvester of Lies kicks ass !

    10 Jun 2010 Reply
  • fuzzy889

    The singer really lowers the overall quality of this band.

    28 Apr 2010 Reply
  • cass254

    New albums out. Here's my review

    14 Apr 2010 Reply
  • Deadfield

    Dexter Jones’ Circus Orchestra – “If light can’t save us, I know Darkness will” With the third full length ”If Light Can´t Save Us, I Know Darkness Will” Dexter Jones´ Circus Orchestra have taken things even further, boiling it down to the essence of the band, delivering an album packed with heavy, laid-back riffs, grand lyrics and DJCO´s trademark: twin guitar harmonies. Release date 22nd of January 2010

    8 Jan 2010 Reply
  • Deadfield

    Josiah are set to release their fourth and final album "Procession" via Elektrohasch Records this winter.

    2 Oct 2009 Reply
  • xraphaelx0409xx

    metalcore?delete it please!

    31 Aug 2009 Reply
  • Strokarlos

    yeea great music! \,,/ I've just discovered 'em

    27 Aug 2009 Reply
  • coffeeandpigs

    Im guessing this isnt the Josiah that released on Anticon?

    18 Aug 2009 Reply
  • StonedJesus

    great music!

    9 Jul 2009 Reply
  • bufftbone

    Mathew Bethancourt is an awesome vocalist. I first heard his Cherry Choke stuff and was hooked. Josiah is my favorite and Kings of Frog Island isn't to shabby either!

    15 Jun 2009 Reply
  • furio78

    Just 3500 listeners? They need better promotion

    24 Mar 2009 Reply
  • All 32 shouts

Top Listeners