Shadows Collide With People

Record Collection/WB
Release date
24 Feb 2004
Running length
18 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Carvel (Album Version) 6:13 218
2 Omission (Album Version) 4:32 274
3 Regret (Album Version) 2:58 227
4 Ricky (Album Version) 3:55 202
5 Second Walk (Album Version) 1:42 245
6 Every Person (Album Version) 2:36 195
7 Negative 00 Ghost 27 (Album Version) 3:50 166
8 Wednesday's Song (Album Version) 3:29 195
9 This Cold (Album Version) 2:00 233
10 Failure33Object (Album Version) 2:54 146
11 Song to sing when I'm lonely (album version) 3:14 287
12 Time Goes Back (Album Version) 3:22 256
13 In Relief (Album Version) 3:34 223
14 Water (Album Version) 4:05 204
15 Cut-Out (Album Version) 3:32 195
16 Chances (Album Version) 1:49 237
17 23 go in to end (Album Version) 6:41 404
18 The Slaughter (Album Version) 3:52 187

About this album

Shadows Collide with People is the fourth solo studio album by Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante, released in 2004, conceived during the recording of the Chili Peppers’ 2002 album By The Way.
It is widely regarded as his most accessible work, featuring a mix of guitar-driven alternative rock, folk ballads, and electronica. Frusciante has stated that this was his most expensive album to date, costing around $300,000 to produce.

All tracks were written by Frusciante himself and the majority of the vocal work is also performed by him. Another notable feature of this album is Frusciante’s newfound ability to sing in a more professional-sounding and stronger voice than ever before.

Fellow Chili Pepper, bassist Flea plays a double bass on “The Slaughter”, the closing track of the album. Other notable contributers came from Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith, The Mars Volta frontman Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, Josh Klinghoffer and Charlie Clouser.

Frusciante also made acoustic and demo versions of these tracks available to fans through his official site, as an alternative to the highly produced sound of the record.

The album reached #191 on the Billboard 200 and #11 on Heatseekers.

Other releases

Listening Trend

97,752listeners all time
4,631,031scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners