Sketches for my Sweetheart the Drunk

Release date
Running length
26 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 The Sky Is A Landfill 5:07 79,187
2 Everybody Here Wants You 4:44 132,337
3 Opened Once 3:27 65,014
4 Nightmares By The Sea 3:50 80,047
5 Yard Of Blonde Girls 4:05 62,016
6 Witches' Rave 4:38 55,749
7 New Year's Prayer 4:38 67,753
8 Morning Theft 3:37 78,418
9 Vancouver 3:10 76,147
10 You & I 5:38 40,089
13 Haven't You Heard 4:05 43,142
14 I Know We Could Be So Happy Baby (If We Wanted To Be) 4:25 38,374
15 Murder Suicide Meteor Slave 5:52 36,482
16 Back In N.Y.C. 7:34 31,186
17 Demon John 5:11 34,832
18 Your Flesh Is So Nice 3:34 35,938
19 Jewel Box 3:32 42,154
20 Satisfied Mind 5:57 47,974
Nightmares By The Sea (Remix) 3:50 5,676
Thousand Fold 3:31 6,352
I Know We Could Be So Happy (I 4:27 5,121
Murder Suiside Meteor Slave 5:55 3,679
New Year's Prayer (Remix) 4:09 6,113
7 Gunshot Glitter 5:34 24,956

About this album

Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk is a collection of polished studio tracks and four-track demos recorded by Jeff Buckley. Being dissatisfied with material recorded in the summer of 1996 and early in 1997, Buckley worked on many demos to reach the sound he was hoping to achieve. To be titled My Sweetheart, the Drunk, the album was never finished, as the rest of the band were traveling to meet Buckley at the time of his death. It was released posthumously on 26 May 1998 (see 1998 in music). Despite its unfinished state, the album garnered many positive reviews; The Onion’s AV Club called it “frustratingly incomplete, but mostly remarkable”. The album’s original sessions were produced by Television frontman Tom Verlaine.

“My Sweetheart the Drunk” was the working title that Jeff Buckley was using while writing and recording the album; the title was intended by his mother and sole heir of his estate, Mary Guibert, to be rendered with parentheses, as Sketches (for My Sweetheart the Drunk), because Jeff’s work was not finished, and therefore was just an outline, or “sketch”, of what would have been released, had Jeff been able to complete this project.

International (non-US) editions of Disc 2 include the bonus track “Gunshot Glitter” (Jeff Buckley) as Track 7 for a total of 21 tracks. The Japanese edition of Disc 2 also includes the bonus track “Thousand Fold” (Jeff Buckley) as Track 11 for a total of 22 tracks.

* Swedish Gothic Rock band Katatonia recorded a cover of “Nightmares by the Sea”, which appeared on the “Tonight’s Decision” album and then later on “The Black Sessions” compilation.

Other releases

Listening Trend

69,415listeners all time
1,181,018scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • mr_sadness

    20 Jun 7:06pm Reply
  • dAdriano


    26 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Freddie1994

    For me, this one, even if it is incomplete, is a five stars album and a masterpiece as Grace

    1 Aug 2013 Reply
  • laryoverkill


    13 Jun 2013 Reply
  • leofaig

    I really love this album.

    22 Sep 2012 Reply
  • RenanGuerreiroC

    The unfinished work of art, this CD would've been a masterpiece.

    21 Apr 2012 Reply
  • pedrotsilva

    been looking for this... can't find it anywhere if anyone got a download link inbox me

    12 Mar 2012 Reply
  • Nakkinak

    some really interesting guitar textures here

    13 Feb 2012 Reply
  • D-I-N

    Such a shame...

    18 Nov 2011 Reply
  • joeliera

    so far ahead of his time. There will never ever be anyone like him.

    14 Nov 2011 Reply
  • vanvic68

    The perfection in the unfinished (Jeff Buckley - Everybody Here Wants You) Hope you like it

    5 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Lassix

    The one and only.

    13 Jun 2011 Reply
  • johnnycool2002

    First disc is far better than the second.

    16 Apr 2011 Reply
  • tatterdemalio

    and now this one please

    7 Mar 2011 Reply
  • StasLeo

    help! i can't find download link for this album!!

    3 Oct 2010 Reply
  • DoctaMario

    Yeah this track listing is messed up. There are 4 tracks that are listed twice and "Thousand Fold" and "Gunshot Glitter" were international bonus tracks not found on the US CD release. I love Grace but I actually like Sketches better somehow. It's inspiring to see a work in progress.

    19 Oct 2009 Reply
  • GalaxiaRetro

    @alvareo - this has put both discs together as one album.

    2 Sep 2009 Reply
  • dougydarkangel

    It seems this album is alot more centered around the instrumentation than around the vocals, something which i realy look for in music. This album could have even topped grace if it had the chance to be finished properly, but as it is, i just dont think it gets there.

    15 Feb 2009 Reply
  • alvareo

    Don't worry if your version has less tracks, most of the time, has fucked up tracklists.

    14 Jan 2009 Reply
  • BrokenSignals

    I think this album just makes me dream what could have been. The album proves that he can do a lot more than just create a beautiful melody like Grace, but that he can create intense lyrics centering on social problems. And he wouldn't care if his songs sound ugly like Murder Suicide Meteor Slave.

    13 Jan 2009 Reply
  • All 28 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners