Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Galway, Ireland (2011 – present)

Ilenkus are a five piece post/prog metal/hardcore band from Galway, Ireland. In 2011 the band released their debut album Rule By Thieves on Savour Your Scene Records. With three alternating front-men and an energetic and impassioned approach to their performance, the band’s sound is almost constantly in motion.

Ilenkus have shared the stage with bands like The Ocean, Rolo Tomassi, James Cleaver Quintet, The Afternoon Gentlemen, Employed To Serve and Coilguns. Along with a host of Irish bands including Shardborne, Gacys Threads, Only Fumes and Corpses, Axis Of and Murdock. described the band as “majestic post-metal”, while Terrorizer Magazine wrote that “you’d have to be pretty thick not to check these guys out - and keep your eyes on them”, while describing “Rule By Thieves” as “expansive and well written”.

Released in September 2011, Rule By Thieves was received excellently by critics. With the bands’ sound being described as “A mix of Metal, Grunge and Noisecore”, while being compared to acts like Mastodon, Isis, Dillinger Escape Plan, Tool and Botch.

In 2012 Ilenkus released one stand-alone song - ‘Ram’, which garnered a very positive response and featured on the cover mount CD of Terrorizer Magazine.

Ilenkus’s new LP is due for release in 2014. It was recorded by Owen Lewis (Hole, Lady Gaga, The Killers, The Game) in Limerick City and mixed and mastered by Chris Common (These Arms Are Snakes, Pelican, Chelsea Wolfe, Les Butcherettes, Tera Melos) in El Paso, Texas.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

274listeners all time
2,076scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners