Illegal Attacks (5:25)

Cover of The World Is Yours

From The World Is Yours and 3 other releases

“Illegal Attacks” is a single by Ian Brown featured on the album The World Is Yours.

“Illegal Attacks” was released as the album’s lead single on October 8, 2007, and was a contentious track, dealing head-on with the political issues of the day. Sinéad O’Connor is featured as a guest vocalist on the track. The opening notes of the song are plucked softly in arpeggios, which are juxtaposed with the confrontational opening line, “So what the fuck is this UK?” The song then pulses with an ominous, grinding cello, and culminates with Ian Brown pleading earnestly for the return of British soldiers to their homeland:

“Soldiers, soldiers come home Soldiers come home”

When the song was played on BBC Radio 1 during the Top 40 countdown, the song was preceded by an announcement, claiming that Brown’s views did not necessarily reflect those of the BBC. Its peak position on the UK Singles Chart was number 16.

The single was described by NME as another example of Ian Brown’s “godlike genius…an unforgettable plea to world leaders to ‘Cop the fook on.’


Everyone’s tags

More tags

Play with Spotify

Albums featuring this track (4)

Similar Tracks

  Track   Duration Listeners
Ian Brown - Sister Rose 4:31 35,466
Ian Brown - Save Us 4:57 25,793
Manic Street Preachers - Judge Yr'self 3:00 11,026
The Stone Roses - Tell Me 3:50 33,604
The Charlatans - My Beautiful Friend 4:33 52,060
The Charlatans - How High 3:04 29,499

Listening Trend

22,172listeners all time
77,560scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • geniusmover

    "So what the fuck is this UK..." must be one of the best opening lines ever.

    19 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Da_booka

    Such a shame it's got that gobshite Sinead on, detracts from a belter tune

    4 Mar 2013 Reply
  • tobla_de

    Damned right!

    7 Aug 2012 Reply
  • Funky_Nickie

    I'd have to agree it sounds extremely naive...but naivety is sincere, you know what I mean?

    28 Feb 2012 Reply
  • TheSwagga


    8 Oct 2011 Reply
  • lenara999

    if trying to tell the truth in your own way is naive, yeah call it naive

    24 Feb 2011 Reply
  • danloss

    musically it's fucking brilliant but the lyrics.. damn, so naive

    27 Oct 2010 Reply
  • jojob77

    He IS THE MAN!!!!!!!! Even better live:)))))))))))))))))))

    13 Oct 2010 Reply

    Wow, who'd have thought Ian Brown would be the one singing protest songs. Great tune as well. More power to his arm. Fight the system.

    10 Aug 2010 Reply
  • pjbird

    Meaningful.... Love it when Sinead O'Connor comes in

    23 Feb 2010 Reply
  • JKtheunwise

    great song, its got a great video to.

    27 Jan 2010 Reply
  • SauzerOCR

    V wrong V

    24 Jan 2010 Reply
  • imyourman

    yeah i gotta agree with you all apart from BratmanDu (8 shouts down)

    17 Jan 2010 Reply
  • eymensg

    HEY SAUNDZ GREAT: lyrics for shure.. good job done!!

    16 Jan 2010 Reply
  • MrNightjar

    hell fuckin' yeah....great lyrics!!!

    1 Dec 2009 Reply
  • Goatboy46and2


    21 Nov 2009 Reply
  • smoody114

    Ian brown is cool

    2 Sep 2009 Reply
  • gal4enja

    i've found this song besause of sinead))) exellent one!

    23 Jul 2009 Reply
  • pompeybloc

    This is a great song, really, really good and well informed. What a beltert from a great artist. I'm singing concrete FACTS.

    16 Jun 2009 Reply
  • BratmanDu

    This is an awful song, really, really bad and ill informed. What a let down from an otherwise decent artist.

    26 May 2009 Reply
  • All 56 shouts

Top Listeners