Release date
5 Mar 2011
Running length
14 tracks
Running time



    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Throw the Day Away 3:07 0
2 World of Kings 6:15 0
3 Words As Weapons 3:16 3
4 Sweet Perfection 3:14 1
5 Drift Away 4:35 94
6 Build Me A Mountain 3:44 0
7 Didnt Mean To Let You Down 5:15 0
8 Everybody's Famous 3:39 0
9 Since Youve Been Gone 3:39 0
10 Nobody's Hearing Your Cries 4:03 2
11 Over You 4:21 1
12 Flying Low 4:21 0
13 Shady Days 3:44 0
14 Henpicked 4:37 0

About this album

By Bing Turkby
Definitely the first ‘dub and country’ album I’ve heard (I’ve decided to call it ‘dubtry’), and an impressive 14-track product it is. When not heading down the reggae route, the album has a predominantly light Warratahs-like feel to it. ‘Astroturf’ is a showcase not only for the musical talents of the members but also for the strong ditty songwriting skills of guitarist/vocalist Dean Murray. He is joined by three very accomplished female musicians – I’m sure they don’t henpick him too much – making a tight unit, even on the dreamier songs. There are dubby ruminations on the greed of politicians, cruisey country numbers celebrating smalltown life, and even a video of the song Everybody’s Famous, which perfectly conveys the joys of living in rural NZ. I Didn’t Mean To Let You Down includes a hauntingly beautiful slide guitar solo and Carylann Martin provides several great accordion breaks throughout the album. The singing and harmonising is natural and spot-on. Hailing from the Horowhenua, with recording, mix and mastering by Ross McDermott at Audiosweet in Paraparaumu, Henpicked are a cheerful, mellow, Kiwi-accented delight.

Listening Trend

98listeners all time
131scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more

Listen to, buy or share


  • 131
  • 98
Not many people have scrobbled Astroturf recently.
Learn more about scrobbling


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.