Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Hate Eternal


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Florida, United States (1997 – present)

Hate Eternal is a band from Florida, United States.

They were formed in 1997, while founder/frontman Erik Rutan was touring and recording as guitarist for legends, Morbid Angel. The group’s original line-up included bassist and co-vocalist Jared Anderson, drummer Tim Yeung, and guitarist Doug Cerrito of the band Suffocation.

In 2002, drummer Derek Roddy (formerly of Nile, Divine Empire, and Malevolent Creation) replaced Tim Yeung, and the band set forth to record their second album, King of All Kings as a trio with Erik, Jared and Derek. That summer, Erik Rutan parted ways with Morbid Angel to devote more time to Hate Eternal.

In 2004, the band started work on the much-anticipated follow-up, entitled I, Monarch. Recording began in the fall and the album was released in June of 2005. Hailed by critics and fans alike, the album put forth an innovative new musical approach in , while retaining the speed and brutality prevalent in the genre. The group’s musical talent, as well as their production, shined like never before - both individually and collectively.

After an internally difficult U.S. tour over the summer of 2005, and with a number of pending business problems, the group canceled their European tour, which had been scheduled for the fall. After spending much of the winter dealing with internal differences and personal situations, Derek Roddy departed in March of 2006.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

92,232listeners all time
2,370,768scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Russian_Wolf

    нескончаемые бласты.

    18 Apr 3:50pm Reply


    3 Mar 4:41am Reply
  • GodLord0

    great band

    2 Feb 10:22am Reply
  • Maquina_Muerte

    looks like they're hinting on facebook that the recording is finished...

    31 Jan 7:30pm Reply
  • standard_user

    everything after I, Monarch sucks balls, though KOK isn't that good either

    15 Jan 8:14pm Reply
  • fymek

    v this was the side project, and after all, imo, it's all about the music, not the lyrics:)

    14 Nov 2014 Reply
  • K696 "Lyrical themes: Christianity, Purity" Eric WTF ???? !!!!!

    13 Nov 2014 Reply
  • GodofDeathMetal

    I hope the new Hate Eternal album is going to be like Phoenix Amongst The Ashes or better!

    10 Nov 2014 Reply
  • GodofDeathMetal

    Hate Eternal rox! I'm looking forward to the new album. I totally enjoyed Phoenix Amongst The Ashes.

    7 Nov 2014 Reply
  • fymek

    Didn't expect that, I thought ER focused on producing. Phoenix is a solid album, but it's missing something.

    1 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Metalfanatic666

    "The recording sessions for the new album have been going great and we can't wait for you to hear it" Offical facebook source.

    30 Oct 2014 Reply
  • bobo9390

    v awesome if true

    25 Oct 2014 Reply
  • Metalfanatic666

    New album will be released on the beginning of 2015.

    24 Oct 2014 Reply
  • fymek

    v Doubt that it will happen soon, E.R. is producer now.

    3 Aug 2014 Reply
  • xVictimOfADownx

    Anybody know if we are ever getting a new album?

    31 Jul 2014 Reply
  • milta

    Da Death Metal Hippie:

    12 Mar 2014 Reply
  • mggtinfstdcrps

    hey demonsanctuary, jo poes! /m/ Hate eternal /m/

    12 Feb 2014 Reply
  • DemonSanctuary

    I dunno, every so often I like to put on CTT or KOAK and see if my mind has changed on Hate Eternal. I always found them to be one of those bands who are just by the numbers and as a result, come across as too one dimensional and cliched. I try to see if something changes, as sometimes it does when it comes to bands. Every time, I just am left asking what it is about them that just leaves me feeling nothing towards them. The lack of variation, and the non stop blasting wears thin very quickly and the songs just are not that memorable...... I know, in before "No one gives a shit".... but yeah, guess it is not meant to be.

    2 Jan 2014 Reply
  • fymek

    Jade Simonetto left the band. Damn, I would like to hear Tony Laureano behind the drums in here or Roddy back

    4 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Atreidezz

    "King of All Kings" and "None So Vile" by Cryptopsy are some of my most played Death Metal albums yet... so much brutality with these guys, fuck

    26 Nov 2013 Reply
  • All 884 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners