The Sweet Escape (4:06)

Cover of The Sweet Escape

From The Sweet Escape and 50 other releases

“The Sweet Escape” is a pop song written by Gwen Stefani, Akon, and Giorgio Tuinfort for Stefani’s second solo album The Sweet Escape (2006).

“The Sweet Escape”, which features elements of doo-wop, New Wave, and ska music, is an apology for a fight between two lovers and describes a dream of a pleasant life for them. As the album’s title track, its title was chosen to help market Stefani’s music and fashion lines.

Although it was released as the second single from Stefani’s second solo album in 2007, it had been sent to U.S. radio in December 2006. The song debuted on the Billboard Hot 100 chart at #93 in December 2006, and it peaked at #2 in April 2007 behind Akon’s subsequent single “Don’t Matter”. The song spent 15 consecutive weeks in the top ten and remained on the chart for over nine months, listed at #3 on the year-end chart.

The song was nominated for Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals at the 2008 Grammy Awards but lost to Robert Plant and Alison Krauss’ “Gone Gone Gone (Done Moved On)”.


Everyone’s tags

More tags

Play with Spotify

Albums featuring this track (51)

Similar Tracks

  Track   Duration Listeners
Gwen Stefani - Wind It Up 2:50 336,389
Gwen Stefani - Rich Girl 3:56 379,563
Nelly Furtado - Promiscuous 4:02 450,410
No Doubt - It's My Life 3:44 326,127
No Doubt - Hey Baby 3:27 269,466
Nelly Furtado - Maneater 4:18 639,539

Listening Trend

551,414listeners all time
2,794,149scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners