Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


GusGus, Iceland’s leading -/ band saw the light of day for the first time in 1995, during a break in the making of the shortcut “Pleasure”. Initially GusGus was as a multimedia collective that combined sexually tinged music with visual arts and shorts made by the group’s members.

A self-titled debut album appeared on their Kjól & Anderson imprint in conjunction with the screening of “Pleasure” and immediately caused a buzz on the scene in their native land. Eventually it’s grooves and sensual beats reached the demanding ears of UK’s 4AD Records that signed the band in 1996. By and since the release of their 4AD debut and second album “Polydistortion” the collective started touring relentlessly to a wide acclaim that has been enforced to this day.

They released their sixth album, Forever, in February/March 2007. Gus Gus has had a varied lineup, including:

* Birgir Þórarinsson (a.k.a. Biggi Veira or Biggo)
* Daníel Ágúst Haraldsson
* Magnús Jónsson (a.k.a. Blake)
* Sigurður Kjartansson (a.k.a. Siggi Kinski)
* Stefán Árni Þorgeirsson
* Hafdís Huld Hákonardóttir
* Emilíana Torrini Davíðsdóttir
* Urður Hákonardóttir (a.k.a. Earth)
* Magnús Guðmundsson (a.k.a. Herb Legowitz a.k.a. Buckmaster DeLaCruz, The Fox, Fuckmaster, or Herr Legowitz)
* Stephan Stephensen (a.k.a. President Bongo, Alfred More, or President Penis)
* Baldur Stefánsson

Several lineup changes have occurred, and their current incarnation consists of three members (President Bongo, Earth and Biggi Veira).


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

410,616listeners all time
5,742,210scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners