Mag Earwhig!

Release date
20 May 1997
Running length
27 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Guided by Voices - Can't Hear the Revolution 1:36 6,517
2 Guided by Voices - Sad If I Lost It 3:33 8,615
3 Guided by Voices - I Am a Tree 4:40 26,402
4 Guided by Voices - The Old Grunt 0:00 6,745
5 Guided by Voices - Bulldog Skin 3:00 20,191
6 Guided by Voices - Are You Faster 3:41 1,001
7 Guided by Voices - I Am Produced 2:11 7,521
8 Guided by Voices - Knock 'Em Flyin' 1:04 6,346
8 Guded By Voices - Knock 'em Flyin' 1:04 190
9 Guided by Voices - Not Behind the Fighter Jet 2:13 7,488
10 Guided by Voices - Choking Tara 1:30 7,212
11 Guided by Voices - Hollow Cheek 0:32 6,274
12 Guided by Voices - Portable Men's Society 4:16 5,793
13 Guided by Voices - Little Lines 1:55 6,461
14 Guided by Voices - Learning to Hunt 2:25 17,983
15 Guided by Voices - The Finest Joke Is Upon Us 3:10 6,273
16 Guided by Voices - Mag Earwhig! 0:39 5,932
17 Guided by Voices - Now to War 2:15 6,678
18 Guided by Voices - Jane of the Waking Universe 2:31 6,956
19 Guided by Voices - The Colossus Crawls West 2:13 5,551
20 Guided by Voices - Mute Superstar 1:24 5,848
21 Guided by Voices - Bomb in the Bee-Hive 2:02 5,753
22 Guided by Voices - Running Off With the Fun City Girls 2:01 1,576
23 Guided by Voices - None of Them Any Good 2:57 1,399
Guided by Voices - The Finest Joke Upon Us 0:00 789
Guided by Voices - Knock 'em Flying 1:04 1,374
Guided by Voices - Are You Faster? 3:41 6,497

About this album

Mag Earwhig! is a 1997 (see 1997 in music) album release by indie rock band Guided by Voices. Following the dissolution of the “classic lineup,” band-leader Robert Pollard hired Cleveland rockers Cobra Verde and formed a new GBV unit. This move was somewhat controversial among GBV fans, especially those who were loyal to the lo-fi lineups stretching back to the mid-1980s.

Mag Earwhig! is a step-up in production from the band’s trademark lo-fi sound; the Matador Records description of the record mentions that a first set of tracks were recorded with “a real producer,” former Reivers leader John Croslin (who also produced Spoon’s early records, and who is credited on this record as engineer rather than producer).

A second session included “spontaneous, basement-sounding stuff.” While the album includes a few tracks with the classic lineup (“Jane of the Waking Universe” being the last), the so-called “Guided by Verde” grouping is the album’s dominant force.

Mag Earwhig as a rock opera
Mag Earwhig! is a rock opera according to GBV frontman Robert Pollard. In the words of the band’s press release for the album:

“Pollard is the main character in this sprawling narrative, an insectile cartoon figure named the Magnificent Earwhig, who interacts with a wild cast of characters in songs evoking nostalgiac memories of an Ohio boyhood, starting one’s first band, and inhaling American roadside pop culture.”

Other releases

Listening Trend

19,965listeners all time
409,378scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • deathtrot

    Fuckin' masterpiece!

    22 May 2011 Reply
  • MohammadWDI

    I used to HATE this album, mostly because it wasn't Alien Lanes or Bee Thousand. Thankfully, I grew out of that mindset, because this album rocks.

    17 Jun 2008 Reply

Top Listeners