Release date
21 Feb 2011
Running length
26 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 I'm New Here 3:26 50,161
2 Home 3:11 75,655
3 I've Been Me (Interlude) 0:34 11,034
4 Running 3:31 84,083
5 My Cloud 4:28 69,984
6 Certain Things (Interlude) 0:17 874
7 The Crutch 3:10 63,935
8 Ur Soul and Mine 4:24 60,207
9 Parents (Interlude) 0:35 22,626
10 Piano Player 1:16 62,028
11 NY Is Killing Me 5:44 101,848
12 Jazz (Interlude) 0:49 59,682
13 I'll Take Care of U 4:40 54,529
1 I'm New Here (instrumental) 2:57 946
2 Home (instrumental) 3:27 251
3 I've Been Me (interlude) (instrumental) 0:30 40
4 Running (instrumental) 3:32 263
5 My Cloud (instrumental) 4:28 202
6 Certain Things (Interlude) (Instrumental) 0:16 2
7 The Crutch (instrumental) 3:12 715
8 Ur Soul and Mine (instrumental) 4:24 656
9 Parents (Interlude) (Instrumental) 0:28 14
10 Piano Player (instrumental) 1:19 175
11 NY Is Killing Me (instrumental) 5:43 858
12 Jazz (interlude) (instrumental) 0:51 691
13 I'll Take Care of U (instrumental) 4:44 717

About this album

We’re New Here is a remix album by American recording artist Gil Scott-Heron and English music producer Jamie “xx” Smith, released on February 21, 2011, by Young Turks and XL Recordings. A longtime fan of Scott-Heron, Smith was approached by XL label head Richard Russell to remix Scott-Heron’s 2010 studio album I’m New Here. He worked on the album while touring with his band The xx in 2010 and occasionally communicated with Scott-Heron through letters for his approval to rework certain material.

Incorporating dubstep and UK garage styles, Smith applied electronic music techniques in his production to remix Scott-Heron’s vocals from the original album over his own instrumentals. Although it is structured similarly, We’re New Here eschews the original album’s stark style and lo-fi production for bass-driven, musically-varied production and sonical illumination of Scott-Heron’s vocals. It has been noted by music writers for recontextualizing Scott-Heron’s narratives in Smith’s own musical influences and tastes.

Although it did not chart in the United States, the album debuted at number 33 on the UK Albums Chart, on which it spent two weeks. It was promoted with a multi-format release, including a limited edition box set, and the release of two singles, “NY Is Killing Me” and “I’ll Take Care of U”. Upon its release, We’re New Here received general acclaim from music critics, who praised Scott-Heron’s vocal material, Smith’s production, and his treatment of the source material.

Listening Trend

54,203listeners all time
1,656,942scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners