Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Japan (2001 – present)

Galneryus is a Japanese Power Metal band formed in early 2001 by guitarist Syu and vocalist YAMA-B. They play material inspired by metal legends Dream Theater, Stratovarius, and X Japan.

The current members are Masatoshi “Sho” Ono (vocals), Syu (guitar), Taka who replaced Yu-To in 2009 (bass), YUHKI (keyboard) and JUNICHI (drums.) Veterans of the heavy metal scene, they set to work assembling a band. Syu, known as guitarist for the indie heavy metal bands ValkyR, Animetal and SPINALCORD, where he also served as lead vocalist, and vocalist YAMA-B, who worked with bands Gunbridge and Rekion, originally were joined by keyboardist A (of Valkyr) and drummer Toshihiro Yui (Formerly of Honey Quest and Cemetary.) They soon were to recruit keyboardist Yuhki, of Ark Storm, and drummer Junichi Satoh. After Tsui left in 2006, they recruited yu-to of DELUHI. They were signed to VAP Records. Syu writes music for the band and contributed his deep, roaring vocals, while lead vocalist Yama-B contributes the songwriting, with lyrics and song titles in English. Galneryus has a dress style that borders on the style of visual kei, with medievally styled and leather dress, toting instruments with coloration to match,although recently they have set for a more casual style.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

30,240listeners all time
2,884,923scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Angeltearx

    So they won't release a single before the album? Hmm, well only 3 weeks to find how if the new album is interesting :)

    4 hours ago Reply
  • asagi92

    Thanks @tienxcore for sharing. Sounds interesting.

    18 Aug 6:02am Reply
  • tienxcore

    18 Aug 4:18am Reply
  • VyseLegendaire

    Heads up, Vetelgyus is available for pre-order at CDJapan.

    30 Jul 5:18am Reply
  • Ancient_Entity

    Japan's been pretty good to me this year, and September is no exception. I wish Light Bringer's upcoming album would get released then too. The 4th quarter is going to be anti-climatic after all this. :P

    26 Jul 3:37pm Reply
  • tienxcore

    kamijo's first full length album ( Heart ) is also coming out september 24th so there's that. Seems like its going to be a good september for music.

    26 Jul 8:35am Reply
  • Ancient_Entity

    September 24th is getting expensive: Onmyo-Za, Galneryus and Exist Trace so far. 13000 yen for 4 CDs, ouch (I'm getting the limited edition for the last 2).

    26 Jul 2:33am Reply
  • Psyienna

    WACKEN and HELLFEST? Now those are great goals. How often do we see bands publicly expressing their hopes and dreams like this? And thanks for the updates, especially about Onmyouza. I've been gradually listening to their stuff and want to hear more!

    26 Jul 12:39am Reply
  • MaRtInCeS

    I already expected that Judgement Day would be on the new album and I am happy about it. Finally a decent version of the song. I am really excited for September 24th. Two new albums by Onmyouza and now Vetelgyus too. This is going to be awesome.

    25 Jul 8:17pm Reply
  • Dudemanguy911

    Vetelgyus will be released on September 24th!

    25 Jul 1:02pm Reply
  • asagi92 (New Interview with Galneryus before the concert in France)

    25 Jul 1:31am Reply
  • DJLockhead

    From the facebook page: [~Our plan for next year is to get into WACKEN OPEN AIR in Germany and HELLFEST in France. ~Buddy Hirahara, Manager for GALNERYUS] So Wacken it is. At least for me, next year ^^.

    24 Jul 6:56am Reply
  • Angeltearx

    I am really wondering how the new album will turn out. Its supposed to be more rock and more catchy, and I don't know if that is a good thing. The celtic influences and the 8 minute long instrumental sounds great though. Can't wait :)

    22 Jul 8:57pm Reply
  • flakfalcon

    Super excited to hear that Yuhki has two songs on the album! I love every song that he's composed.

    22 Jul 6:12pm Reply
  • tienxcore Some new info on vetelgyus I think

    22 Jul 10:15am Reply
  • Angeltearx

    Ye, Never Ending Story is not really an amazing triple A song, as how it is right now.

    21 Jul 6:12pm Reply
  • Lapyx

    Hope they've had a great first tour through Europe :)

    21 Jul 3:31pm Reply
  • jesus2099

    We did got it, Silent Revelation as the final encore (after a so so song from next album Vetelgyus) in Paris, tonight. Best moment of the concert, actually. :)

    18 Jul 10:10pm Reply
  • asagi92

    Thank you! I was really hoping for Silent Revelation..but whatever. Sho and Syu spoke in japanese for the most of the time. Sho just said "thank you" in german and in english. Yuhki's arm looked pretty good for me, i guess so yeah. They sold quite a bit of merchandise but it was a bit expensive lol.

    18 Jul 12:19am Reply
  • Psyienna

    お疲れ様です!(Welcome back, well done!) They don't sell gobs and gobs of merchandise, do they? Looking at the setlist, I'm really surprised that they didn't play Destiny or Silent Revelation. Did Sho MC in English, Japanese, or German? Was Yuhki's arm totally healed?

    17 Jul 11:39pm Reply
  • All 2467 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners