Memory And Humanity

Release date
13 Oct 2008
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Rules and Games 2:48 28,116
2 To Die Like Mouchette 3:20 24,022
3 Kicking and Screaming 3:22 30,778
4 Constant Illuminations 2:56 22,752
5 Maybe I Am? 3:35 22,458
6 You Can't See The Forest For The Wolves 3:22 21,974
7 Building 2:37 21,326
8 Beneath The Burning Tree 3:32 24,961
9 Someday The Fire... 3:13 19,730
10 Waterfront Dance Club 4:21 24,252
11 Charlie Don't Surf 3:44 19,569
12 Ghosts 2:59 19,993
13 Constant Resurrections 4:24 18,148

About this album

Memory and Humanity is the fourth studio album by Welsh band Funeral for a Friend, released on October 13, 2008. The album was released through the band’s own record label Join Us in the UK, Victory Records in the US and Canada, and Roadrunner Records in the rest of the world.[1]

On January 26, 2008, drummer Ryan Richards made an announcement on the band’s forum, stating that FFAF were to spend the first few months of the year recording, with a view of releasing a four or five track EP in March or April 2008. After writing more material than originally planned, the band decided to scrap plans for the EP and release a full-length album instead, expected out in September. Ryan also announced that the new album would contain harsh/screaming vocals, riffs and would be closer to Casually Dressed and Deep in Conversation than any of their other albums, although would still be significantly different and more technical, citing that they want to move forward, and never back to any old style.

The first single from the album, “Waterfront Dance Club,” was released on July 14, 2008 in the 7” format as a double A-side along with the track “Beneath the Burning Tree”, whilst the song “Waterfront Dance Club” was released as a free download on the same day.[2]

On August 9, 2008, the video for the second single from the album, “Kicking and Screaming”, made its debut on the band’s MySpace page.[3]

The album was released on the 13th of October 2008 and reached #17 in the UK album charts.[4]

Other releases

Listening Trend

37,924listeners all time
1,455,035scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.