Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Frightener began in summer 2006 with Rhys (drums), Jack (vocals) and Sam (guitar). Dearlove joined on bass and they played a string of gigs as a four piece until Steve joined on second guitar in early 2007. The first LP, Guillotine, was recorded in winter 2006 and released by Ghost City Records and A389 Records in 2007. In Spring 2007 Frightener released a split 7” with Pulling Teeth and the two bands toured the UK. Frightener then went on a short European jaunt with Abandon Ship and The Shitty Limits before going to America for a month’s tour with Pulling Teeth. The band’s status is currently “undecided”.

Frightener took influences from holy terror bands like Ringworm, early grindcore like Napalm Death and Terrorizer and more unhinged hardcore bands such as Rorschach.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

2,002listeners all time
28,288scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • ryanhbltz

    Vocalist reminds me of Burned Up Bled Dry.

    21 Nov 2013 Reply
  • Jimsonisolation

    The irony that the mastered sounds like it's unmastered, couldn't believe it,

    2 Jun 2010 Reply
  • edward0

    Saw them on their tour with Pulling Teeth. They were one of the heaviest things I had ever heard... Guillotine spent a lot of time on my turntable. What's the unmastered shit like? Can someone hit me up with it?

    27 Jan 2010 Reply
  • cider_drinker

    drummer lives in oz so unlikely

    20 Nov 2009 Reply
  • vu1tur3

    Unmastered > Mastered. Easily one of my favorite bands.

    17 Sep 2009 Reply
  • burndownthdisco

    easily one of the best uk bands everrrrr, need to get back togetherrrr.

    5 Jun 2009 Reply
  • xmosh4jezusx

    Amazing band. Best liveband on Trashfest 2007. Definitely.

    12 Feb 2009 Reply
  • HeWhoIsZ


    18 Jan 2008 Reply
  • supajuj

    this is almost death metal, as a matter of fact

    9 Dec 2007 Reply