Sky Full of Holes

Release date
1 Aug 2011
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 The Summer Place 3:30 13,637
2 Richie and Ruben 3:32 11,688
3 Acela 3:12 9,252
4 Someone's Gonna Break Your Heart 3:54 10,834
5 Action Hero 4:00 8,447
6 A Dip in the Ocean 3:35 8,248
7 Cold Comfort Flowers 4:25 7,551
8 A Road Song 3:04 7,444
9 Workingman's Hands 2:38 6,815
10 Hate to See You Like This 4:13 6,601
11 Radio Bar 2:56 6,628
12 Firelight Waltz 3:13 6,018
13 Cemetery Guns 2:53 6,134

About this album

Fountains of Wayne’s long-awaited new album, Sky Full Of Holes, is the acclaimed band’s first new release since 2007’s Traffic and Weather.

Recorded in New York City, Sky Full Of Holes features 13 new songs by Chris Collingwood and Adam Schlesinger, ranging from high-energy power pop to intimate, acoustic-driven ballads. Songs like The Summer Place and Richie and Ruben showcase the band’s renowned storytelling abilities and flair for creating memorable characters; elsewhere, they take a more impressionistic approach , as in the shimmering Someone’s Gonna Break Your Heart and the elegiac Cemetery Guns (a lyric from which provides the album’s title). In signature FOW fashion, the album manages to be simultaneously witty and wistful, imaginative and personal.

Formed in New York in 1996, Fountains Of Wayne took their name from an iconic garden store in nearby Wayne, NJ (which, sadly, closed recently). The group’s line-up includes guitarist Jody Porter and drummer Brian Young and has remained unchanged since they toured in support of their self-titled 1996 debut album. Fountains Of Wayne were nominated for two Grammys, including a somewhat belated Best New Artist nod, in 2003, after scoring a hit with their third album, Welcome Interstate Managers.

Sky Full Of Holes is the band’s fifth full-length release (not including 2005′s two-disc B-side compilation [album]Out-Of-State Plates[/album]) and was produced by Collingwood and Schlesinger.

Other releases

Listening Trend

22,358listeners all time
335,684scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • FCA19795

    I thought this was very boring and sleep inducing.

    17 Sep 2014 Reply
  • scott_sea

    A return to form after Traffic and Weather. I had almost written them off. Good to see them back with a strong album.

    30 Aug 2012 Reply
  • kugayama

    please compare this to the start of Summer Place and tell me i'm wrong - that has be on purpose!

    18 Oct 2011 Reply
  • fuentissimo

    Great new album you guys! I already have favorites. You are amazing songwriters, I love your lyrics and your melodies equally and very much. Thank you!

    18 Aug 2011 Reply
  • walking13

    Love, love, love the new album! It's available digitally at Amazon, with bonus tracks, for $3.99.

    2 Aug 2011 Reply
  • themartialarts

    Actually this is a lot better than that - this album slays WIM and T&W, slays them! The slower numbers are not so bad, really. Good hear the spark return.

    29 Jul 2011 Reply
  • themartialarts

    The upbeat songs appear to be their best since Utopia Parkway. Not sold on the ballads.

    22 Jul 2011 Reply
  • Lowbacca

    first listen: 7/10

    3 Jul 2011 Reply

Top Listeners