Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Fates Warning


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Connecticut, United States (1983 – present)

Fates Warning is a progressive metal band, formed in 1983 by John Arch, Jim Matheos, Victor Arduini, Joe DiBiase, and Steve Zimmerman in Connecticut, USA.

The band directly contributed to the establishment of the progressive metal genre. Their early works are considered by many as very important works defining the genre itself. The middle-period works are considered as a progress in songwriting and musicianship as the band evolved. Recent works, since 1997, are in a heavy-progressive, more mature style.

The first album, Night on Bröcken, was released in 1984, on the Metal Blade label, featuring a strong Iron Maiden influence. The Spectre Within was released in 1985, which had a more progressive sound. In 1986, original guitarist Victor Arduini left the band and was replaced by Frank Aresti. The third album, Awaken the Guardian was released in that year, moving towards a more mythical atmosphere. In 1987, original vocalist John Arch left the band, and was replaced by a new vocalist, Chris Cronk, who left short after. Ray Alder, joined the band in 1988. That year, the first album with Alder, No Exit was released. In 1988, original drummer Steve Zimmerman left the band, and Mark Zonder joined the band in 1989. Perfect Symmetry was released in the same year. Kevin Moore (ex-Dream Theater) was featured as a guest on At Fate’s Hands playing keyboards.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

96,102listeners all time
2,577,720scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • sbsnpr

    still kickassas well!! \\m/ (-_-) \\m/

    15 Apr 11:35am Reply
  • sikimdeolurmu

    Last Call (demo) has one of the best beginning that i've ever heard.

    4 Mar 9:58pm Reply
  • Kfiriboy


    15 Feb 4:16pm Reply
  • Thradar

    Saw Fates Warning (also played some O.S.I.), Queensryche, and Dream Theater on the same ticket back in....2003? Epic.

    17 Jan 9:01pm Reply
  • ProgressiveDoom

    The new album is simply wonderful.

    3 Jan 7:45am Reply
  • Metalion_SOS

    I've always avoided FW cos I can't stand prog metal and Night On Broken did nothing for me. But I just gave in and bought The Spectre Within and am LOVING it, so I guess I'll have to get Awaken next... Nice surprise of the day.

    2 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Antikrun

    Oh what a boring band.....

    1 Dec 2013 Reply
  • javier0889

    FW is always stronger than DT.

    29 Nov 2013 Reply
  • mk741

    They were simply incredible live. Felt spoiled by their performance.

    21 Nov 2013 Reply
  • Mindcrime-III

    New album is very great! Nice job FW!

    30 Oct 2013 Reply
  • elenheru

    Stronger than DT. Again

    23 Oct 2013 Reply
  • raznuzdan

    Many thanks for a concert in Moscow! Very emotional, energetic and mentally at the same time!

    22 Oct 2013 Reply
  • raznuzdan

    Большое спасибо за концерт в Москве! Очень эмоционально, энергично и душевно одновременно!

    22 Oct 2013 Reply
  • OceanGypsy666

    On Tour!!! \m/

    20 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Optom-deshevle

    Listeners trend)))

    17 Oct 2013 Reply
  • melkor72

    Like most Fates Warning albums, it took me a couple of listens to appreciate the many great things on here! I only wish that it had not taken 9 years since the last album to release it.

    6 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Geffen90

    5 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Mrozikos667

    It's a great album. I liked the previous one more, but it's still remarkably solid after so many years of playing and touring.

    3 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Split_thunder

    А ведь хороший альбом получился

    3 Oct 2013 Reply
  • DarkRikudr

    The new album, at the very least, ties as my album of the year.

    2 Oct 2013 Reply
  • All 720 shouts