Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Exit Calm


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Barnsley, South Yorkshire, England (2006 – present)

Exit Calm are a 4-piece alternative rock band from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, England. Formed in May 2006 following the break-up of Lyca Sleep, Exit Calm comprise Nicky Smith (Vocals), Rob Marshall (Guitars), Scott Pemberton (Drums), and Simon Lindley (Bass).

They released their debut single, “Higher Learning”, in the Spring of 2008, and their self-titled debut album in May 2010.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

11,369listeners all time
153,959scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • illusionvalley

    So, so heartbroken by their sudden split. Here was a band of an incredible calibre, in power, chemistry, and live performance (so I've been told by many), that I was convinced I'd eventually get to see live. Seven years waiting, then the year before I head over to Europe this happens. Absolutely gutted. :( Still remember the way I felt discovering Higher Learning and We're On Our Own in 2008. Must've listened to those songs alone on repeat for a month straight. I knew bigger things were coming and I was right. Every single, mammoth. Every release a monumental one. To say goodbye to such an extraordinary and current band I never even got to see is particularly sad. RIP Exit Calm.

    12 Mar 9:58am Reply
  • ekesner

    Um. Wow.

    11 Dec 2013 Reply
  • GregCano

    Been following them since the Higher Learning single and it's so great to witness their rise. The new album is incredible. An instant classic. I hope they make it big. We gotta spread the word!

    29 Nov 2013 Reply
  • boshenta

    the new album is awesome

    29 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Tringboy

    7 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Mechno


    2 Oct 2013 Reply
  • RadioheadSnob

    New album! Listening now!

    24 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Mechno

    The Raptor has come!

    24 Sep 2013 Reply
  • milky_fan

    The Raptor will come.

    19 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Mechno new song!

    16 Dec 2012 Reply
  • boshenta

    like guitar shoegazing

    18 Oct 2011 Reply
  • coolasmoons

    ditto what that man said about sounding like the verve. I'm down with the music though. Not fond of the vocals, mind. Perhaps they should get Richard in, he's not got much better to do, let's face it.

    28 Sep 2011 Reply
  • gavinintexas

    Lyca Sleep..La terior banda..Closer In!!! hermosisimo..

    27 Aug 2011 Reply
  • baxinski

    no, no, no. too much the verve, way too much.

    23 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Mechno

    I hope they tour in Europe in the near future. Would really love to see them live.

    12 Jun 2011 Reply
  • drownedinsound2

    Very good..!!

    29 Jan 2011 Reply
  • TheReegs

    Best album of 2010 by a mile. They are writing their 2nd album. Just hoping comes out this year!

    16 Jan 2011 Reply
  • RadioheadSnob

    Probably one of my top 3 albums of the year. What an astonishing debut. Only Tamaryn's The Waves has managed to surpass its shoegaze goodness.

    20 Nov 2010 Reply
  • catweazel86

    f*ck yeah, what a great record these guys made! I was really searching a looooong time to find something with this particular sound.

    14 Nov 2010 Reply
  • wondabhoy

    they remind me somewhat of The Boxer Rebellion...excellent in that

    9 Oct 2010 Reply
  • All 89 shouts