Figure 8

Universal Music B.V.
Release date
17 Apr 2000
Running length
16 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Son Of Sam 3:04 246,398
2 Somebody That I Used To Know 2:09 289,965
3 Junk Bond Trader 3:49 191,373
4 Everything Reminds Me Of Her 2:37 222,859
5 Everything Means Nothing To Me 2:24 183,504
6 L.A. 3:14 109,466
7 In The Lost And Found (Honky Bach)/The Roost (Medley) 4:32 481
8 Stupidity Tries 4:23 157,259
9 Easy Way Out 2:44 154,766
10 Wouldn't Mama Be Proud 3:25 85,658
11 Colorbars 2:19 15,938
12 Happiness/The Gondola Man (Medley) 5:04 422
13 Pretty Mary Kay 2:36 14,891
14 Better Be Quiet Now 3:35 22,605
15 Can't Make a Sound 4:18 148,996
16 Bye 1:53 147,834

About this album

Figure 8 is the fifth studio album by American singer-songwriter Elliott Smith. Released by DreamWorks Records on April 18, 2000, it became Smith’s second release on a major label and the last album he would complete before his death. It was recorded at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, Sonora Studios in Los Angeles, Capitol Studios in Hollywood, and Abbey Road Studios in London (“Stupidity Tries”, “In the Lost and Found (Honky Bach)” and “Pretty Mary K”). The album was also released on double vinyl 12” on Bong Load Custom Records, and later rereleased by Plain Records in 2008. It is also available as a digital download.

The title is thought to be taken from a song by Schoolhouse Rock!. Smith covered this song, but it did not make the final track listing.

Compared to Smith’s earlier work, Figure 8 is more instrumentally ornate, and the lyrics are more impressionistic. Smith described the songs on the album as “more…fragmented and dreamlike”

Other releases

Listening Trend

570,144listeners all time
12,710,315scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.