Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


A three-piece band hailing from the United Kingdom, Ecthirion’s aim is to write broad and unique music. Describing their own style, the band says “Hopefully it is something unique and thought provoking. We try to think outside the box and not be cliché. Our music combines elements of all styles of metal including the extremes, as well as baroque music, film music, folk music, eastern music and Spanish music”. Most of these styles can be heard on the EP.

The debut 5 track EP “Apocalyptic Visions” was released on May 22, 2009. With guest vocals by Eugen Dodenhoeft (Far Beyond) and Azahel Frost (Frost Like Ashes) and operatic vocals by Josh Edwards, Ecthirion strike the fans with massive epic orchestral metal elements with Viking and black metal tendencies.

The current line-up of Ecthirion consists of:

Gabriel Neale - guitars, bass, programming
Simon Treasure - guitars, bass, programming

Ecthirion are working on a new 12 track full length album which will explore some new territory and feature different guest musicians including vocalist David Cooney and a number of female vocalists. The recording is going ahead and the release will be completed by some time in 2011.

Top Albums

Listening Trend

1,269listeners all time
10,919scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Luccas_Fernande

    One of my favorite bands!

    1 Sep 2014 Reply
  • BlindSlaves

    "Our music combines elements of all styles of metal including the extremes, as well as baroque music, film music, folk music, eastern music and Spanish music." I'm in love :D

    30 Mar 2014 Reply
  • Todestriebe

    Anthem for the Brave is very beautiful song, I love this voice

    8 May 2013 Reply
  • gabrielneale

    sanja717 - the reason you couldn't find them in Google is because I miss spelt the Latin when I made the booklet :| I think its Dominum amavimus. I took it from my old school hymn (st Georges school, Harpenden)

    13 Apr 2013 Reply
  • mrmichel0927

    Awesome! I am so excited for this album! And of course they liked it Gabriel, because it is really good :)

    2 Mar 2013 Reply
  • gabrielneale

    Hello, people actually liked Ecthirion's stuff! The new album is being worked on now and will be a full length with 10 tracks on it. We will release it on Sigionoth Records hopefully before the end of this year.

    2 Mar 2013 Reply
  • sanja717

    Does someone know if words at the very beginning of "Warmageddon" are a fragment of longer text? I tried to look for them in Google, but found nothing. Also, that melody reminds me of something, but my brain can't remind.

    4 Dec 2012 Reply
  • Lionheartattack

    Not to say they are power metal! That's just what I thought for some reason. Kinda random that Anthem for the Brave was on my bookmarks toolbar for months and months for some reason before I finally clicked it -- and man was it worth it!

    24 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Lionheartattack

    First impression without listening: "Meh, surely just another no-name power metal band with nothing special going on." After listening to my first song from them, Anthem for the Brave: "O____O What the-? Blown away! What an unbelievable song! I HAVE to hear more!" I'm officially impressed by the unbelievableness (nice word) of the music! :D This is extremely rare for me to happen anymore -- big thanks, guys, you made it happen! ^^

    24 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Happy_Funeral


    26 Aug 2012 Reply
  • Luis-85

    Awaiting for full album.

    29 Mar 2012 Reply
  • gabrielneale

    Hey people, Ecthirions new CD is nearing completion, Im not rushing Eugen with the mixing as I want him to do his best. (he is also a complete legend in offering to mix all the tracks for free) The quality of production is going to be much better than the first release. I am looking forward to it and have been composing more tracks in the meantime. Please stay posted and thanks for following us (me). Get ready for the new stuff for which I have recorded tones on classical instruments.

    2 Oct 2011 Reply
  • mrmichel0927

    The new album has been cut down to an EP (as there is now only one active band member) that should be released sometime in the near future. Although I would have liked a full length, I still can't wait! It's going to be awesome!

    8 Aug 2011 Reply
  • supcav

    This music has some excellent neoclassical (esp. piano) characteristics, along with some very creative avant-garde goodness, with an awesome black metal core! Really looking forward to hearing more from these guys!

    22 Jul 2011 Reply
  • JiK777

    interesting! I'm curious for the full-length, sounds a lot different from my normal bands, but i seem to like it :)

    28 Apr 2011 Reply
  • mrmichel0927

    I can't wait for the new album much's going to be so epic!

    29 Mar 2011 Reply
  • Aydrina


    24 Mar 2011 Reply
  • Granamonkey

    Actually, it is apparent and very obvious by listening to their lyrics. The band is pretty good. I'm not too keen on the vocals, and the music doesn't pique my interest, but it's decent.

    19 Aug 2010 Reply
  • MKVR32

    So? It isn't even close to being apparently obvious.

    6 Jul 2010 Reply
  • Claudio7777

    this band is Christian

    30 Jun 2010 Reply
  • All 33 shouts

Top Listeners