Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


There are several artists named Earth: 1) An / / band from Olympia, WA, United States, led by Dylan Carlson. 2) A band from Melbourne, Australia. 3) A pop trio from Japan. 4) A project by DJ Sangeet. 5) The original name of pioneers Black Sabbath.

1) Earth is an band formed in 1990 in Olympia, Washington, United States by Dylan Carlson, Slim Moon, and Greg Babior. They are pioneers in the minimalistic and repetitive form of known as , but considerably changed their style over time, today playing what one might consider a distinct kind of instrumental . The band at some point moved to Seattle where Carlson forged a strong friendship with music icon Kurt Cobain, who sang lead vocals for the song “Divine and Bright” on the live album “Sunn Amps and Smashed Guitars”. Cobain also appeared as a “specialist” on Earth’s 1990 debut release “Extra-Capsular Extraction”, and sang backing vocals on “A Bureaucratic Desire for Revenge Part 2”. Joe Preston, who played bass briefly with the Melvins, also appears on this 3-song CD.
Dylan Carlson has been the driving force of the band and still remains the core of an everchanging line-up. As of the release of their most recent album, titled “The Bees Made Honey in the Lion’s Skull”, Earth consists of Dylan Carlson (guitars/amplifiers), Adrienne Davies (drums/percussion), Steve Moore (acoustic and electric pianos/wurlitzer) and Karl Blau (acoustic/electric bass).


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

151,196listeners all time
5,059,969scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • madyaker

    Sees 'how anything earth-related is 'overrated' is beyond me [2]'... "Oh, someone must be claiming 'Earth2' or 'A bureaucratic...' are a bit much, or at least in someway superseded by more recent works..." "Bees is overrated" Alright then, most unlikely option it is.

    13 Jan 8:49am Reply
  • masknilsson

    Haha September is my favorite track for sure ;) MisterJunior

    9 Jan 2:52pm Reply
  • tupinambruno

    I think that the western like stuff was better.

    4 Jan 9:11pm Reply
  • MisterJunior

    What does everybody think of that killer track "September (feat. Wind & Fire)?" Interesting new direction for these guys, I think.

    2 Jan 10:04pm Reply
  • kynodontas

    thanks! i will definitely check these out

    29 Dec 2014 Reply
  • CornishGhost

    phase 3: thrones and dominions and a bureaucratic desire for extra capsular extraction

    29 Dec 2014 Reply
  • kynodontas

    someone recommned me more albums like earth 2 plx

    28 Dec 2014 Reply
  • tnbh

    how anything earth-related is 'overrated' is beyond me [2]

    25 Dec 2014 Reply
  • CornishGhost

    seriously though, hex is amazing

    23 Dec 2014 Reply
  • CornishGhost

    how anything earth-related is 'overrated' is beyond me

    23 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Keolia

    Bees is the knees.

    18 Dec 2014 Reply
  • tupinambruno

    Bees is overrated.

    17 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Philadelphia_

    no love for the new one

    16 Dec 2014 Reply
  • MisterJunior


    15 Dec 2014 Reply
  • vulcanarchist

    Wanna listen to a band that's like Earth but heavier and grittier?

    4 Dec 2014 Reply
  • olin97


    11 Nov 2014 Reply
  • bloody72

    pozdrowienia ze Śląska dla fanów Earth

    9 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Treats4TheSOUL

    Torn By The Fox of the Crescent Moon is a song which I really just can't get over. Way too good.

    29 Oct 2014 Reply
  • AtmosphericPhil

    Listening to Earth 2: Special Low Frequency Version was a pretty interesting experience. - I have to listen to this entirely, this is the first drone doom album ever and Sunn O))) were super influenced by that stuff. I'd actually max the volume on my headphones for a better listening experience. *click* BWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))) *after 73 minutes* - Wow, that was cool.

    28 Oct 2014 Reply
  • JamesHippieKid

    It's all about Bee's. [2]

    10 Oct 2014 Reply
  • All 2084 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners